Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emma B Trask Middle

Public | 6-8 | 803 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

Trask Middle School is OK..... There is a couple UP's and DOWN's: UP'S: -Great Clubs (FBLA, 4H, Art, Garden, Etc.) -Really Nice & Fun Teachers (Kuk, Lancaster, Bass, Brock, etc.) DOWN's: -Worst School LUNCHES EVER! (It tastes like processed food, which it is) -RUDE, RUDE, RUDE OFFICE STAFF! Their Office Staff is very rude to parents and even STUDENTS! That is not cool :( -School needs renovations & more clubs (The school was built in the 70's & It needs ALOT of work!) -Buses Can be late to bus stops, OCCASIONALLY! (My daughter doesn't care, but she would like to be at SCHOOL on time!) I GIVE THIS SCHOOL A 3! Bullling is also a BIG Issue at Trask...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

new to North Carolina school system. Looking for ratings and comments on Emma B. Trask on current opinions (i.e. bullying, leadership and student reviews).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

The office staff & principals are extremely rude as others have previously mentioned. The principal always acts like she's too busy to take care of your needs, or issues for your children, as do the rest of the staff. Ms. Mills, one of the counselors, practices blatant reverse discrimination. I was shocked by how she handled a meeting with my husband & I when my boys transferred to Trask, & I wanted to make her aware of my older son's bullying issues at the other school. My younger son gets bullied perpetually, & while Mr. Bacon was nice when I spoke with him about it, he's done nothing to follow up with me or my son, like he said he would. Some of the teachers are nice, but others don't seem to care. PTA is AWFUL! The president is rude, which turns other parents off, & leads to detatchment. The school is not inviting to students or parents AT ALL! My older son is at Laney now, & it's a world different. My younger son finishes up at Trask this year, & I can't wait for him to get out of there. He went from making straight A's all through school to C's & D's last year at Trask. The teachers did not even contact me when he began suffering academically!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

Office Staff are RUDE RUDE RUDE...they are the people who are in contact with the parents on a daily basis, you would think that the school district would have better judgement when hiring people. Mr. Bacon, however, is great. Too bad he has to work with all of the rude people in the front office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Im a former student in Trask and im in 7th grade who came from a magnet school.Trask has no where near as much of classes and electives as my old school and most of these students here are really mean. Rude, stuck up, just full of drama.The teachers here are great but my math teacher really doesnt help if i need help with something if i ask a question he'll make a saracastic joke and make me feel dumb. i think 3 of my friends failed once in Trask.I dont really feel comfortable here ; at my first day of Trask i was called a mexican by people i didnt even know when im mixed, this people tease and sometimes tease at kids that have a disease which is just comletely wrong


Posted August 3, 2010

I just left trask and and the only things I really learned were in the advanced language arts class. Other than that it was mostly boredom and a rude office/staff. The school isn't nice at all with dull design and crowded hallways. There also wasn't much of a elective selection and they don't really focus on science or social studies at all.


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are great and help with my work. when ever i ask. the other students are nice to me. i love my school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

This school is very unpleasing. The teachers are nice and all but the office is very rude. if i go up to the office if they called me up there the lady is on the phone the whole time and i am waiting and she says what do you need and i tell her so she continues to talk on the phone. I always feel uncomfortable up there and they are very rude. I would say that eversince Mr. Bacon has been at that school kids have felt more like they have someone to talk to. Nobody ever goes to any of the principles. Only Mr. Bacon. He listens to your needs. Trask middle school is also unorganized. When we got our new dress code teachers would say one thing and another teacher would say another. And half the time u dont know where to go! they change schedule alot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2009

I love the school and so does my child. My concern is the same as mentioned by another parent. The lack of textbooks is bothersome. I also like to go over with my child what was learned in school and have no reference. My child has asked to bring home her textbook in order to study and was told that they cannot do this. What is this saying to the child. Getting the child to study is difficult enough, and when they show enthusiasm to at least try, they should be given reiforcement. In addition, over the weekends no homework is given. This wouldn't be a problem because I could take on the task of assigning work myself if I had a textbook to utilize. Other than these issues I like this school and teachers are very pro-active in communication with the parents, which is lacking in many schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

We are not pleased with Trask Middle School. Last year, my son was in G6-III and had a lot of homework, which is ok. This year in G7-III, he only has daily homework in math and has an excellent math teacher. He occasionally has a Language Arts assignment. The teachers' websites indicate no homework will be assigned, and that all work is done at school. Also, he doesn't have science, language arts, or social studies textbooks; the teachers teach from power point. In the past, we've always gone over the textbooks with our children to reinforce what was learned in school that particular day. I looked at G7-I and G7-II teacher websites, and they have loads of homework, so what is this national statement, 'no child left behind' supposed to mean at Trask. I agree--the office staff is borderline rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

This school is ridiculous. They teach seventh graders things that in the state we came from, they taught to fifth graders. There is basically little to no diversity. The faculty is even worse. We are very dissatisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2005

It is okay. some of the teachers get upset over little things and the office staff are very rude. But on the other hand the new principal is very nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

My son attended Trask in 6th grade. I was impressed with some of the opportunitites that he was offered. For the most part, it was a good year. My only complaint would be that the office staff was not friendly or welcoming. I always felt as if I was an intrusion, when I would go to the office. Whether it was to meet my son for lunch or to volunteer, I never felt comfortable. Anytime I called the school, the phone lines would not be working properly and it was hard to talk to a teacher. On the other hand, most of the teachers were real nice and tried to be as helpful as they could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

I've had two daughters that attended Trask. They both progressed very well. Each of them had teachers and guidance counselors that recognized their strengths and weaknesses that allowed them to challenge themselves academically. They were both asked to join the SAGE program that placed them both well above their grade levels. The learning environment allowed my oldest child to excel in high school and place her in the top 5% in their class. My youngest is still at Trask. No school is perfect and they all have trouble in one area or another. Overall, Trask is an excellent environment for a child to receive a great start for high school both physically and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

Our Son has attended Trask Middle School for several years. Since Mrs. Dousharm has come on board things have really changed. Our child does not arrive to school on time consitently every day. He is late for school anywhere from 10 minutes to 1 hour and 40 minutes. Lately he is about 30 minutes late for school daily. Though we have attempted to resolve this important issue, we have been unsuccessful. There have been many occasions when we tried to reach the school and could not get through. We have been told they are experiencing Phone problems. When resolving problems the staff is slow to return calls, set up meetings, and come up with a solutions. Our son has not experienced the wonderful educational experience he enjoyed in years past. Finding out how our son is actually doing and being involved in the educational process has been very difficult this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male56%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female49%
Male50%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male50%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial25%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female52%
Male41%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial33%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female47%
Male44%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female48%
Male40%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students59%
Female52%
Male65%
Black34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities32%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged-95%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students93%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 52%
Black 23% 26%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Sharon Dousharm
Fax number
  • (910) 350-2144

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 North College Road
Wilmington, NC 28405
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 350-2142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sonshine Academy
Wilmington, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT