Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sherwood Forest Elementary 1

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
I believe more the negative comments than the positive. I am writing this to prove that anyone can write anything including personnel of school pretending to be parents and say some defensive comments. Our children are at stake and school admin should have some accountability. I vote to have to school district to inspect the school performance and monitor closely to the teachers regarding their level and years of experience. I always believe that what is not measured and supervised it is never improved.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 4

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
I read the previous review that mentioned the kindergarten teacher and assistant teacher and was absolutely shocked! Our child was in that exact same class and had a wonderful kindergarten experience. It was most certainly not the lead teacher's first year teaching kindergarten. She has been an elementary school teacher for many years, some of those years were kindergarten. We have been very pleased with Sherwood so far and look forward to first grade.


Sherwood Forest Elementary 4

Posted March 04, 2012
- a community member
I am in 5th Grade at this school.The PTA is very strong in this school.The only thing is they give a lot of tests and you sometimes get bullied there,too.The cafeteria aides are very mean.But you can get a great education,otherwise.The administration is very proficient.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
We have 2 children at SFES and both love the school,their friends, and teachers. We are so fortunate to have a wonderful new principal who is engaged with the parents and, as I hear, very much liked by the teachers. We find it to be a very safe and nurturing environment. The PTA is very strong and involved on a daily basis.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 3

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sherwood Forest Elementary 5

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 5

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
My child has been attending this school for one year and has had a wonderful experience. They focus on visual arts and science and it has truly been a fun and educational experience for my daughter. She comes home everyday excited about the things she has learned. Most of the year she has had at least two teachers working in the class and the parents are highly involved. I am very sad that we are moving because I feel other schools might not be able to compare.


Sherwood Forest Elementary 1

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
My child had a miserable time at this school. The classrooms were unorganized and chaotic. The parents are great. That is why the school survives. The principal is not a leader. We had to transfer out after two years. Not only was he not taught, we was put in danger on more than one occasion.

Sherwood Forest Elementary 5

Posted July 27, 2007
- a parent
Sherwood is an excellent school! My son attended all 5 years. The staff is high quality, parental involvement is outstanding, and test scores are consistently favorable. Great place!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherwood Forest Elementary
1055 Yorkshire Road, Winston-Salem, NC  27106
(336) 774-4646
Last modified Sherwood Forest Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherwood Forest Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.