Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public charter
Akron, OH

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edge Academy, The 4

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Excellent curriculum! I really also like the staff. They concentrate on reading and math which I also really like.

Edge Academy, The 2

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is more worried about what my kids hair cuts look like and what shoes they have on than their education... My son consistently got straight A's and received his first F in Social Studies... I never received a call he needed help in Social Studies but if he had a hair cut with a little design nothing offensive nor was it big or shoes were not all black and brown my work phone and cell phone was ringing


Edge Academy, The 1

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
I was extremely disappointed with this school. We recently visited. I can not believe the principal's behavior! She spent time gossiping with a teacher about another staff member instead of answering questions about education and my child. I had hoped the edge offered parent's a better choice. Sadly, this school left a lot to be desired. After additional research, we've decided the edge is most definitely not where our kids belong. Send your kids elsewhere.

Edge Academy, The 5

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edge Academy, The 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Edge Academy, The 5

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
My children and I are very happy with they way Edge works. They are a wonderful school.

Edge Academy, The 3

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
My son attends Edge Academy he has been there for the last six years.I like the concept of the school.Edge teaches the students to respect each other,that is as if not more important to than getting good grades.The issue of safty has come up here recently.

Edge Academy, The 0
no rating

Posted July 14, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended the Edge Academy for K and 1st grade. She did very well there and she had one of the best and most compassionate 1st grade teacher's I have ever seen. Her name was Ms. Miller. My daughter did very well there, but no longer attends because I wanted her to attend a more racially diverse school. I withdrew her from the school when it went into academic emergency because, although I liked the school, her education is of the utmost importance to me. My daughter is black, as are 98 percent of the children at The Edge Academy. I think they should try to make it a more racially diverse environment because children need to be able to get along and co-exist with children of all different races, starting at a young age. Exposure to all races, for all children, only helps them in the future. Ashanti


Edge Academy, The 5

Posted December 12, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edge Academy, The 2

Posted November 02, 2004
- a parent
Edge Academy currently employs Teachers that do not have the compassion needed in instructing the at risk youths. The student ratio is 98% African Am., and the teaching staff consist of majority Caucasion Teachers. It has been observed that the Teachers can not relate to the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edge Academy, The
92 North Union St, Akron, OH  44304
(330) 535-4581
Last modified Edge Academy, The is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edge Academy, The Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top