Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgeview Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 382 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2011

Rigdeview is and Excellent school! The entire Buckeye Local Schools district rated Excellent, and it is the only district in Ashtabula County to rate Excellent across the board. Teachers are outstanding. Willing to help out with any need my children may have. I have two currently enrolled and wouldn"t even think about moving them elsewhere. My kids love going to school and I have yet to encounter a teacher that I haven't liked. The staff is friendly, efficient, and goes above and beyond what other schools do for their students. They have high parent involvement and welcome it in every way. This school provides a safe, nurturing environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I like the school. Most of the teachers seem really great ecspecially mrs. Johnston & mrs. Ranck! although this last yr. My childs teacher did not like the parents in the room much to help out. I'm not use to that as i always helped out when my child was in kindergarten, i was always welcomed in the classroom! this yr. I was very rarely in the room. Overall the school is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

What is the problem w/ the lunchroom. There are a few noon aides that think they can be rude and overpowering to not only the children but the parents. If you can not respect a chid or parent what are you doing working there? I am sick of my child being afraid to eat lunch by themselves. I feel these people need to take time with a child if they are having trouble. They should not be afraid of a person who is getting paid to make sure your child is safe from harm in the lunchroom. They are not in a reform school they are in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

Having had two students who have gone through this elementay, I think I can say that most of their experiences were positive. Every staff member I have dealt with has tried to do their best to help my children. The reading programs are wonderful and ahead of their times.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 3, 2004

I feel that this is a great school. This school has many strengths. Getting the family involved is one of their great strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2003

Over the years at my child's school I have experienced and my child has often been treated with disrespect, rudeness and unfairness from the staff that also includes lunch aides. Last year when I requested tutoring or extra help when it was offered to other students my child never got the help she needed. Now this year the school board doesn't have the funds,so I have to pay out of my pocket to have my child tutored at home. The only good thing about that school is they finally have a principal that has made an effort finally this year to listen and help me and my daughter by getting her extra help at school with reading and some math. I think this principal will shape up this school, it so very much needs it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled73%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female81%
Male66%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female>=95%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled75%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled75%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5BelowMet
Grade 6BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
99 (2011)
 
97 (2010)
 
94 (2009)
 
96 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Black N/A 16%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Mary A. Balmford
Fax number
  • (440) 998-2842

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3456 Liberty St
Ashtabula, OH 44004
Phone: (440) 997-7321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT