Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
383 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
In our careful search for a school to send our children, we found Our Lady of Lourdes. I am not from Cincinnati, but my wife was familiar with schools in the area. There are many good schools on the west side of Cincinnati and we visited most of them. We wanted our children to attend a school where they could receive an excellent education, and a school that could assist us in teaching our children our faith. After attending a few masses at Lourdes and meeting with some of the 25 to 30 year veteran teachers at Lourdes, we decided this was the community and school for our family. We have been a part of Lourdes for 6 years now and the teachers our children have had are deeply passionate and completely dedicated to the success of the children at Lourdes. Yes, Lourdes has had some changes, with the Pastor moving to the seminary and a recent change in the principal position. But, the wonderful core of this school and the community that surrounds it, remains the same, very active. The teachers, students and parents are very excited for the good things to come this year. I look back on our decision 6 years ago, and it truly was a life changing moment and our children have been fortunate to grow up in such an environment. In a smaller school, with the advantage of smaller classes (so veteran teachers can provide more attention to the students). An environment where everyone from the Priest to the faculty of the school, is passionate about the faith, teaching the faith, teaching faith values, and the success of our children academically. As a parent, what more could you ask for? As for our family, this parish community has become our home.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
The development of a child is not the sole responsibility of the teacher, however, the teachers at Lourdes are faithful Catholic Christians. They are genuinely interested in the development of all children and are very diligent in teaching the Catholic faith, the teachings of Christ, and Christian values. They want all the students to be respectful of others, responsible for their actions and decisions, and will use creative ways to reinforce these points.


Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
The faculty of this school, do everything they can to instill respectful thought and behavior in the children who attend Our Lady of Lourdes. The seed is planted. However, a child's development is not the sole responsibility of the teacher. What a child learns in school must be reinforced at home by the parents/guardians/custodians of the child.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
The school and the community that make up Our Lady of Lourdes, is devoted to the Catholic Christian faith. Hard working, compassionate, caring, empathy, supportive, charitable, and loving, are just of few of the many good things that are at the core of this school and community. It is a witness of the Catholic Christian faith.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 04, 2016
- a parent
I would like to first thank Mary Joe Meyer, who was the first teacher we met at Lourdes. It was her love for kids and her love for Our lady of Lourdes that drew us to this school. She was also the kindergarten teacher of our children. She has since retired, but some wonderful teachers do a great job filling the position. I would like to say a special thanks Mrs. Barney, Mrs.Schneider, Mrs. Schoenfelder, Mrs. Ruwe, Mrs. Laker, Mrs. Kissinger, Mrs, Brackmann, Mr. Lones, Mrs. Riva, Mrs. Thom. for all their passion and hard work teaching our children and for working with us to instill responsibility, good work ethic, kindness, compassion... and Catholic Christian values. A heartfelt thanks to all of the faculty and volunteers, who reinforces these values and help improve the lives of our children everyday at Our Lady of Lourdes School.


Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 04, 2016
- a parent
I can only answer this question base on what I have seen with my own children. They have learned great study skills, take notes, keep a planner, make note cards in studying for tests, have excelled in many subjects, and they can write in cursive (which I was shocked to hear most school are moving away from teaching). My children do very well in school and know they are responsible for keeping a planner in order and up to date. I did not teach them any of these skills. I would say the teachers of my children have had over the years, are very effective teachers.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 04, 2016
- a parent
There were times over the last 6 years, where during a particular school year, I would think it was a bit much or too little during a stretch. But, in the end I think it has very balanced and the right amount. It has always been manageable and our children have time to be kids.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a community member
Our Lady of Lourdes school is welcoming and emerging once again as the leading school in academic excellence on the westside. High standards for behavior as well as for students and staff. Am proud to be an alumni.


Our Lady Of Lourdes School 4

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Our family loves Our Lady of Lourdes. We have two children who currently attend this school and highly recommend it. The teachers are very caring and go the extra mile to give the children what they need to succeed. We also have a strong parish community. It is in a great location and has before and after-care available for a very affordable price. We also have many extra-curricular activities that my children love.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 2

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
A once great, solid school now in sad decline. High teacher turnover and a new secretary has made this year chaotic. The principal is not a skilled leader. Teachers are not top of the line. Children are not being reined in and are allowed to get away with too much.

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
5835 Glenway Avenue, Cincinnati, OH  45238
(513) 347-2660
Last modified Our Lady Of Lourdes School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top