Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roxboro Middle School 4

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
My eighth grade daughter has gone here for all three years and has had a great experience. The technology in the classroom, including the iPads, leads to new, unexpected learning, just like any other new tool, and present challenges. The teachers have the ability to monitor each student's online activity in real-time and correct behavior if necessary. The racial and socio-economic mix at the school, we feel, is a benefit, not a problem, and makes my children much more open-minded and aware. The flight of upper-middle class children to private schools is frustrating and skews test scores and classroom make-up, but happens in most similar schools. The gifted program teachers and extra-curricular activities, especially music, are amazing. Cleveland Heights also has the challenge of a very transient population, with a high change rate of students entering and leaving the school due to parents moving into and out of the school district. The community just passed a school bond issue to renovate all of the middle schools and the high school over the next five years which will help a lot.

Roxboro Middle School 4

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Mr McNichols the principal is really dedicated, effective and responsive. The IB program is allowing the students to all work at their highest potential. Our high achieving daughter is doing very well, (23 out of 25 ACT in 8th grade), orchestra/band instruction & performance is outstanding. Lots of extras like honors classes, Chinese, sports, clubs and so on. This is in no way an inner city school. The demographics are imbalanced bc of all the parents who put their kids in private school when there are "too many black kids". Don't let those test scores be the only criteria!


Roxboro Middle School 1

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
One really wonders if there is any learning going on here at all. The kids were given Ipads and play games all day long instead of learning.

Roxboro Middle School 1

Posted April 30, 2011
- a parent
A total waste of time and as we found out the system ranked in the bottom 10 in standardized state achievement tests. Needless to say our kids will be in privarte schools next year.

Roxboro Middle School 5

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
My 8th grade student at Roxboro has phenomenal teachers this year. Both English and Geometry classes meet for a double period allowing teachers to spend time with kids individually in addition to the traditional lecture. The English reading list includes classics written by Steinbeck and Shakespeare as well as current books such as Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. The academic standards are very high this year. Most teachers are available before and after school for kids who need special help. The grade books are online, so parents can keep up with current grades at all times. In addition to rigorous academics, Roxboro promotes qualities of independence and competitiveness. An economically diverse environment teaches kids that not everyone starts at the same place in life. My daughter appreciates what our family provides and knows she needs to work hard to get to the next level. I'm proud of Roxboro!


Roxboro Middle School 1

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Severe Disciplinary problems ana classroom chaos with little real learning going on anymore. Just crowd control. Has really gone down hill in last few years. If you have a high achieving student, do not even consider.

Roxboro Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 15, 2008
- a parent
The problem isn't the teachers, its the students. Cleveland Heights Public schools are much like inner city school now.I would not send my kids there.

Roxboro Middle School 3

Posted June 21, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Roxboro Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2004
- a parent
My daughter received a great deal of personal attention from the staff and had a wonderful experience attending this school. The staff works in teams with three academic levels. Students can easily move up, or down, a level at any time, as needed. There is a foreign language program beginning in 6th grade. The insturmental music program is outstanding. The orchestra sounds better than most HS orchestras. The Roxboro Enrichment Arts Program, sponsored by parents, provides funds for an annual Jazz Week, school musical and artist residencies for each grade level. The Rocket Zone in the library has state of the art technology. There is a full athletic program beginning in seventh grade. Do not be fooled by seemingly low test scores. This school serves a diverse population and all students stand to gain much by attending Roxboro.

Roxboro Middle School 5

Posted February 07, 2004
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roxboro Middle School
2400 Roxboro Rd, Cleveland Heights, OH  44106
(216) 371-7440
Last modified Roxboro Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roxboro Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.