Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Angels School

Private | K-8 | 396 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cleveland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $49,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2011

I attended OLA from K through 8th grade (class of '00) and I felt that I was more than prepared in high school and beyond. The teachers (some of whom are still there) did an excellent job with preparing students for their high school careers. I went on to St. Joseph Academy where I was accepted into multiple honors programs and I credit that to my 8 years at OLA. I was disheartened to read the previous post discrediting my alma mater so I felt as though I should write in as a former student who graduated college with honors and a Masters of Science degree. I truly do credit that to the wonderful teachers at OLA who really set the foundation for my future. Brittany (class of '00)


Posted November 9, 2010

I attended OLA from K through 8th and I was not prepared for high school. During my time there, teachers have found out to have been unqualified and instead of being asked to leave they were just moved to teach different subjects. Many current and past students and parents of students can confirm that some teachers are very rude to students and do not conduct themselves professionally. The local high schools had to have a big meeting about students graduating from OLA because they are dramatically unprepared. When OLA students move on to the local high schools, public and private, teachers ask what students are coming from OLA , because they have to catch up tot eh rest of the students, especially in math, although no subject is completely excluded from this. I, and many students and parents would not recommend Our Lady of Angels.


Posted January 23, 2010

I think OLA is the best school. They have the nicest teachers, and we do awesome activities including teachers vs. 8th grade volleyball game, the Fall Festival, and the 7th vs. 8th grade football. OLA also has a tremendous Fine Arts Council. OLA has the best Pastor and principal a school could ask for. OLA ROCKS
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2009

i love this school its the best school there is ive been going here since kindergarden and im in the 8th grade my last and final year here at OLA its been a wounderful journey as the years have gone by it went just like that soo quickly. i love all the teachers here my favs are mrs.Biggs, mrs. DeCore,mr.C,mr.Misch, and mrs.Bennett!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

I agree with the math! I dont think they spend enough one on one time on this subject. If a child isnt understanding what is being taught for that day, or week , the teacher still moves on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I was very dissatisfied with the schools math curriculum. My child who was a straight A student has to take an additional math class in high school to catch up. On English, spelling and grammar I would rate OLA very good. Unfortunately math skills are being pushed everywhere right now and I didn t like the thought of my child falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

So far so good, good education, fun activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 77%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Black 2% 19%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Elizabeth Decore
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (216) 251-7831

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Cleveland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3644 Rocky River Dr
Cleveland, OH 44111
Phone: (216) 251-6841

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Newton D Baker School
Cleveland, OH






Riverside School
Cleveland, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT