Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Charles Preparatory School

Private | 9-12 | 638 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2005

There is not another school in central Ohio which offers boys the education provided by St. Charles Preparatory School. St. Charles educates the entire child - intellectual, emotional, and spiritual. The school does all it can to ensure all children are educated - not just those with great GPAs. The boys are encouraged to stretch themeselves as they learn academically. They are also encouraged to be of service to others. At St. Charles, I have found that they are indeed their 'brothers keeper' and the entire village assists in raising the child! Again, there is no better place for a young man to learn about himself and the world during these teen years than St. Chalres!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

This school transformed me from a kid with a dream into a dedicated student who has the tools needed to achieve his goals. I cannot use strong enough words to make people understand that if you want to become something, go here, work hard, embrace the culture and you will come out ready for anything. I now go to one of the top 10 Business schools, in the world, and have found it easy to get good grades and balance my time. I have gotten great internships and am well on my way to landing my dream job on Wall Street. This is the typical story from a St Charles man. This school will prepare you for anything and will make you work harder than you will ever have to in the real world. This preparation dooms one for greatness.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 9, 2004

my son's experience here was terrific; he was surrounded by other students with similar abilities and he was able to focus on academics rather than be bogged down by social issues (girls, etc)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My son was given a excellent education and now attends an ivy league college where he is florishing. Not only are the academics top notch, but he made what will be life long friendships. He was challenged to develop his character and his faith as well. St. Charles is an amazing school and we are grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The school is exceptional. The staff is fair and supportive of all students. My son has grown as a student and a young man. I don't think you will find a finer school for your son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have one son who graduated from SC, and one there now. The Academics are very strong -- no other school in the area can compare. An A in a class at SC is much different than an A from other central Ohio high schools. This is an excellent school for young men who want to be prepared for college. My older son went into college with over 40 credits earned from AP testing and college classes taken during HS. Down sides -- such a rigorous academic schedule doesn't leave much time for a social life or just free time. At times this is very difficult for this age of student (gr.9-12) and their parents. More support and understanding from the faculty regarding this would help a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

From what I can tell after just 4 weeks of my son going here, the school is an academic juggernaut. Nothing else in Columbus comes close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Best high school in Columbus. It used to make a good student out of an average student. Now an average student can't get in or stay in and that is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 77%
Black 6% 19%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James R. Lower
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 251-6800

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2010 E Broad St
Columbus, OH 43209
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 252-6714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



East High School
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT