Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Charles Preparatory School

Private | 9-12 | 638 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

St. Charles Prep has an outstanding but rigorous curriculum that prepares these young men for college and life after that. By the time they've graduated, they're ready for anything university can throw at them. There is no shortage of sports or fine art activities in which to participate. All the teachers care about the individual student and will help them before or after school and peer tutoring is available. My son offered, unequivocally, that he could not imagine himself anywhere else. The main component when considering this option for your son is for you to be certain that it is HE who wishes to embark on this challenge, not you. This is not for someone who struggles because they put forth minimal effort toward school. The academia is not for the faint of heart and your son should be a self-starter with good organizational skills to fit regular studies in his schedule, especially if he partakes in sports. If that's the case and he is engaged in this positive manner, then you're right on the money for this spectacular prep school. Go CARDS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

Very pleased with quality of education given at St Charles Prep. I have no doubt my son will be completely prepared for any college or university he chooses to attend. Thank you, St Charles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

Great Teachers, that are willing to help each student individually, no matter the circumstances. Is known nationally for its tough academic rigor, and therefore accepts those with a lower GPA from here than other schools. A Harvard University recruitor said to the lacrosse coah that: "I would rather accept a student with a 3.5 GPA or higher GPA from St. Charles than a student with a 4.5 GPA at another school." The recruitor said this because of the workload of homework given each night to the students. On average you can have around 1.5 - 2hours of homework a night. When you come to Saint Charles you have to be willing to work but it will all pay off in the end. The graduating class of 2010 had all but one student go and attend a four year college after graduating. The student who did not attend a four year college enrolled in the Peace Corps.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2012

Saint Charles Prep is a school for those who want to excel. They treat the student like an adult, where respect and hard work are returned by the faculty. It is where boys come to learn, and where men graduate with success in mind and on their horizon. The faculty who teach there aren't there for a paycheck, rather, their mission is to simply better the students' chances for success. Each and every one, from the principal down to the advisors live the St. Charles motto: Facta Non Verba. The atmosphere of St. Charles trancends that of normal schools. There are no cliques, no internal social groups: it is a brotherhood of men comparable to comrades. There are no women there to impress, and the "immaturity," as smoe may call it, is simply the ease at which these Carolians can relate. The men of St. Charles are forged into a single unit, where each can go to each other for advice, by the crucible of the rigorous academic standards. At St. Charles, nothing is held up higher than the academic standards. For the students, taking a test outside of St. Charles, like the ACT or the SAT, is often easier than the tests taken in school. There is much more I would say, but I am out of room.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2012

We could have never guessed the total committment to Fratres Semper which is Latin for "always brothers". The Alumni and families of Alumni are dedicated to helping past and current students at St. Charles. This was the best decision our Son could have made. We left the choice to him because he has to do the work, not us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

I graduated from St. Charles in 2003 and went on to attend Carnegie Mellon. The high school education I received was so rigorous and demanding that it prepared me for real life at a young age and I am truly better because of it. My strong high school preparation gave me the ability to focus on running clubs and being extremely active in other organizations in college while maintaining high grades. College was much easier than high school which says a lot to the difficulty of making it through St. Charles. Educators there have true passion and are there for one reason and that is to prepare the students for real life. They are extremely well educated themselves and demand respect and attention from everyone in the classroom. The school beams with pride at past success and makes students realize that the duty of living up to the title of a St. Charles man does not end at graduation. Not only was failure not an option after an education like this but the morality taught alongside the rest of the coursework gave me a strong understanding of what life was truly about. I only wish every child had the opportunity to get the education I was fortunate enough to receive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2011

We have six children and pay a lot of money for a Catholic education. We don't have a lot of money, we sacrifice vacations, drive old cars, our house is falling apart, and we are so willing to pay the price. St. Charles is worth every penny. Our son is blessed to be able to go to a school like St. Charles there is a huge difference from the other Catholic high schools. I just wish our daughters had the same opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

Yes this is a great school but what I cant believe his how they nickel and dime you. Also the true cost of the school is never told to you and is not on there web. No were does it state that if you can pay the whole price up front that they will charge a 5% fee. So on top of the 8300 you pay they are punishing people who cant pay the whole amount by adding another 750. On top of that they make you use this payment system and they charge you fees. If you are going to list the tuition rates on your web sight it would be nice to have all this out there. Here I am trying to figuring out if I can afford this by what is on there web sight and that isn't even the right cost not even close. I guess the 32000 dollars you will pay for the four years your kids are there isnt enough money for the school. I just don't get it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

You know how people sit around and talk about how easy kids have it today? Well you had better not say that to, or about, a Graduate of this high school. Saint Charles excels in academics and character building. They do more than teach, they build upstanding men from boys. The curriculum has been proven effective in creating well rounded well prepared college students. Each year graduates attend the top high learning institutions in the country. From the military service academies and ivy league schools to state and smaller private institutions men who successfully graduate from Saint Charles have limitless opportunities as a result of complete one of the most rigorous learning regimens available today. One of the key to the schools success is it administration. The principal and vice principal, dean of men, advisors, and teaching staff are what make this institution great. Sticking to core principles that many lesser institutions have abandoned, the faculty and staff create a stable environment that is conductive to successful and effective learning, and character development.


Posted February 19, 2011

Without a doubt, the hardest, toughest, and greatest school in the entire state of Ohio and all the Midwest. Just look at the school's website for a glimpse of its might at www.stcharlesprep.org
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

Best High School in Ohio, many of my friends go to Gahanna and the work load and preparation for a test at Gahanna Lincoln is equal to the preparation a St. Charles boy goes through to get ready for a quiz. This is my second year at St.Charles and i am having no trouble attending here and the fact that its all guys keeps us all focused and no that does not mean we don't have a life we put our work first but also have time to have fun and to spend time with girls.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

St. Charles is definitely one of the best high schools in central Ohio. Once you visit the school, you will notice that every student there is very polite. My son graduated there and now is a student in UCLA. He got basically a full scholarship to enter the honor program at the Ohio State University, but chose to go to UCLA instead. I guess it is kind of like UCLA, the students themselves are mostly verly motivated ones and they definitely can help each other out. If your son can graduate from St. Charles, he can definitely make it through college anywhere. It also has classes that discuss morality and what is right or wrong, that kind of topics. I find that really helpful to give students some guidiance on moral values, which you can't really discuss them in public school that much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Prepares you for college like no other school can. Shows you how to work and reach your goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Saint Charles is the finest school in greater Columbus -- bar none. For half the cost of its nearest peer college-prep school in the area, a student will earn the right to attend any college, university, or military academy in the world. And these boys do not come from money or have 'blue blood' as previously reported in one of the previous critiques. If your son and you are willing to go hard for 4 years the reward will be tremendous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I can't think of another high school that would have driven my son not to be satisifed with the ordinary, but to raise his expectations above and beyond the cliche of 'allowing each child to seek his/her own level.' Here, excellence is not only expected, but rewarded. I know from the scholarship offers he received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

St Charles relies too much on its reputation, without actually having much to support it. When I graduated, I had issues adjusting to a coed college. In retrospect, a lot of the things we did at St Charles were immature and lacked a certain amount of respect. My friends from other Catholic schools in the area seemed to enjoy their experience more, be able to adjust to college life more easily, and still have the same challenging coursework that I had. When I have a son I will not send him to St Charles. Too much blue blood pedigree, not enough substance to actually back it up.


Posted April 14, 2008

Saint Charles Preparatory is without question the best school in Central Ohio and probably the whole state. As a student here, I can say that SC has provided me with amazing challenges, especially academically. The teachers are tough yet approachable and willing to help, and the curriculum is very strong. I find that SC also has amazing camaraderie, and despite the fact that we work extremely hard, we also have lots of fun during the school day. Parents ought to send their sons to SC - it'll be a tough 4 years, but also the best, most fun, and most rewarding 4 years of your entire life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2007

My son will be a junior this year and I can say without reservation that his entire experience at St. Charles has been fantastic. The coursework is very challenging, the atmosphere is serious without being overbearing and the faculty and administration treat their students with respect and fairness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Saint Charles was the greatest experience of my young life. It really prepared me for college, and I formed long lasting friendships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2006

This is a tough school but it lives up to it's name. It is very much a 'preparatory' school. The goal of this school is to have the students college ready. There is alot of work and alot of homework. However, if you can 'survive', the student will be able to pretty much graduate any college he attends. This school also has alot of academic support for its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 77%
Black 6% 19%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James R. Lower
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 251-6800

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2010 E Broad St
Columbus, OH 43209
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 252-6714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



East High School
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT