Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Peace School

Private | K-8 | 257 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

This is a wonderful school from K-5./ However, very little teaching in 6-8 plus one teacher is a bully. Academics are very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

Class sizes are getting to large, 30+ students, our last teacher was not flexible enough to even provide a weekly syllabus upon request, they don't post syllabus online and rely on the child to self monitor progress, this was clearly an issue when monitoring homework, the issue was pointed out by multiple parents but the teacher was not willing to change her method, principal is nice but is not someone you can rely upon to resolve an issue, for an above average student that fits the mold, you re at the right place, average or below average, any type of special need, look else ware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

Compared to Columbus Public, there is no choice. However, if you have options I would explore. I have a child that needs extra attention and does not fit the mold for this school. OLP does not have the flexibility nor resources to make simple accomodations. Quality and engagement of teachers varies greatly by year and with only one class per grade, you have no options when you have issues. I have two children that attend and am considering withdrawing them after six years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

This is our first year at OLP. To be honest, I was a little unsure before school started but we love it! Talking about God answering prayer and putting us in the right place! What a wonderful school with a principal who knows every student and their parent by name. There is no place better! I love it, I look forward to the 8 and a half years we have left there with this child and look forward to our second one attending starting in 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

We've had three children attend OLP. All very positive experiences. They were well prepared for high school, and eventually college. Our Lady of Peace School is part of the OLP Parish family, and is of great importance to the entire OLP community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

We have an active 6 1/2 year old who has thrived in both years of attendance. We have been pleased from the administrators down to the volunteer parents who help. We feel the smaller environment and catholic based curriculum are the perfect fit for our family. We will send our other children when the time comes. They have something we cannot put a price on, heart and pride. Statistically, they produce high performing students regularly that go on to esteemed universities and make their mark on the world. All in all, a very loving, nurturing caring environment for God's greatest miracles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 77%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 19%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Carol A. Folian
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 267-2333

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 E Dominion Blvd
Columbus, OH 43214
Phone: (614) 267-4535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clinton Elementary
Columbus, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT