Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horizon Science Academy Columbus

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2013

This school is awsome. They have great teachers, diversity, and every student is involved in a club every thursday. I have been to several different schools and this is by far the best schoool i have ever attended. My only complaint is the school lunches and the small building


Posted June 21, 2013

Horizon science academy is a good school in my opinion. I just finished my freshman year there and I enjoyed it. Just like any other school its not going to be perfect but, you learn a lot more than you would anywhere else. Bullying is not an issue. Horizon is still growing as a school and finding new things to make the year interesting. I applaud horizon for the dedicated teachers. The teachers will help you and push you to achieve your goals and are always there for you to turn to. Horizon is still growing and improving just like any other school out there,I plan to graduate from horizon and I think it has a promising future.


Posted May 6, 2013

The staff at this schools works hard with very little--little support, little, respect, little money. Test scores are the main priority at this school. Experimental math and science are not. There is a very small lab component and the school science fair is very weak, with an evident lack of student motivation. (Concept schools owns the Consef Science Fair, so it is not a fair assessment of science abilities.) Some Concept network schools seem to have more science resources, but generally, science equipment is expensive and is not in large supply. HSA claims a 100% graduation rate, with most of those students going to college. I have seen perhaps three students who might succeed in college. The overwhelming majority of the students lack the social and academic skills to graduate from college. The majority of students do not have independent study skills, cannot meet deadlines, don't know how to take notes, have little self-discipline, and low academic interest. Parents at the school need help with their kids, but the high turnover of administration (who have few resources) is not helpful. This school is great at public relations, but has little real learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2011

I have been attending Horizon Science academy since the 7th grade. I am now in 10th grade. The English teacher of my freshman year explained to us that we are taught what is equal to four years of high school within one year, while, compared to the Columbus Public school standards, they are taught four years of high school in four years. This means we are gaining 16 years of high school within our four years. We learned new subjects every other week. Many would think that's an all too fast pace, but the teachers taught well and they were patient with us. Even better: we were able to check our grades whenever we wanted to on personal online accounts. The principal, an ex marine, was always on top of things and was fair at all costs. The school was also on top of things when it came to students, and has an anti-bullying policy. (I never saw any bullying, which surprised me, being a freshman.) The entire environment is encouraging, fun, safe, caring, and respectful. Tutoring is free and it was awesome! Each teacher had the power to enforce a rule, unlike public schools, and to the teachers, we aren't just a number. I am confident and excited to return for my 10th grade year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2010

This School deserves a better rating. It had an "Excellent" rating from ODE for two years in a raw and has been recently recognized as School of Promise. It is one of the best schools in Columbus. I think its rating should be at least 8.


Posted June 28, 2010

I love the the encouragement and attention my son gets. He is came to Horizon in the 11th grade and he loves it. I appreciate how the teachers see his potential and more the most part push in a way that he needs to be pushed in order to respond. That's the intimate education every child should have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

This is an excellent i am not saying its prefect but its getting better every year. They have great teach like Mrs.Harless the freshmen English teach.but the also have young teach that are not that experienced.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2008

It has been growing with excellence each year. Last year, they increased the number of extracurricular and sport activities and teams. They took some of students to trips to NY and FL as well as to Turkey. My child has been pleasant overall and his grades increased after three years since enrolling in the school. Thank you for a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This is information is not accurate. The students get 8 report cards four of which are interim report cards during the school year. The parents and students are also able to see their grades online anytime they'd like.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 24, 2008

The students only get 2 report cards witch makes it harder for the students to keep there grades up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

i love my school i am in 8a and i think my school rocks
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

this has been a grest learing experience and i am learing a lot in some perticulaer classes
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2007

My daughter is on her fourth year at Horizon, overall it has been a great experience. My daughter was chosen to be an exchange student in Istanbul Turkey for 3wks, it was a once in a lifetime experience. I believe horizon is a school that is more geared to self sufficient children,ones that are serious about school, and college prep. If your child is having trouble with some of the work they offer tutoring. If you are looking for a babysitter, someone to deal with unruliness, or someone who will pass off below average as acceptable, there are plenty of public schools to choose from. Horizon is fairly new so no they are not perfect. The only things I dont like are the lack of sports, the frequent changes of deans, and losing Mr.Fant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

My son was a student on 8th grade.I made a big mistake register him with Forth Hayes school year 2006-2007.My son success at Forth Hayes was awfull and teacher responds were awfully and principal of the Scholl was awfully to help us any problems with related my son academic success.With Horizon Science Academy we never had that problem teachers always there as big support and principal was there any time makes the best effort to meet with parents and discuss the best way help the success that student.I really like it be able to view my child grades and home assignment on the web side daily.Often makes parent conference and always keep parents information with phone,letter,online.I really admire the teachers with hard work and keep the good relations with students and parents.It is overall 100 points.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2006

Horizon is providing the best education for free. Great environment, awesome activities and devoted teachers. Highly recommended. JJ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

Some of the things I expected have fallen short.I expected to see more control over the dress code, instead I see sagging pants and hanging shirts.The school should enforce button down shirts and tie for males and skirts/dress for the females.The schools sports program needs to be pushed up to offer more scholarships for households that cannot afford the expense of college.More effort needs to be given to all students in searching for scholarship awards in individual studies,catogories and skills.Those students who work and participate in community service should be recognized and encouraged.Finally, can we please get the high school construction complete and the school looking more like a place of higher learning.This school should be able to stand against our neighboring DeSales HS on every level.Raise the bar!Raise the expectations!Raise moral and watch our children's mind rise to the occasion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

We had a student at Horizon for 7 years. When she graduated and entered college she received an additional scholarship from the college when they got her final transcript. The money was for 'completing a rigorous academic curriculum in high school.' The teachers could not have done a better job of preparing her to further her education. Most new students come to Horizon from Columbus Public. They bring their former school behaviors with them. The staff works to give these kids a chance to straighten up and learn. Some don't make it. Usually it is because the parent does not cooperate. I've had other parents tell me their child would have been a dropout if not for Horizon. Sports, music, drama are at our rec centers. This school is about academics, what school is supposed to be about. I am a teacher of 34 years experience. I highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

Absolutely a great school overall! The teachers are very attentative to students studies and to parents concerns. Kudos to Horizon for signing up for Thinkwave Program to view assignments and grades online. This program has greatly improved the connection with the parent to the teachers immediately and more so important for the student to stay 'on the ball'. Great work Horizon!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

This school is excellent! Schools are for academics, so that is what they focus on. But there are so many things on the side, it is great! They have a basketball, soccer, softball, and other sports teams and some in tournaments. There are approximately 25 trips per year to various places, this including many local events. The trips are educational, but most of all, fun! The work is, arguably, no 'harder' than that of a public schools, but children seem to get so much out of it. The school gives away scholarships to as many students as possible every year. I'm telling you, after 3 years here, I already know that this is an amazing school for kids of all ages, and you need to send yours there now!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

My family was not pleased with Horizon this year. My 6th grade daughter attended there this school year and I found the school admin. to be unorganized and unable to control the (problem ) kids and this affected my daughters Education because the (problem )kids demanded all the teacher attention and my child recieved less instruction time. Also the high School and middle School kids on the same bus and my Daughter did'nt want to ride the bus because of the older kids cussing. So in my opinion if you would like your 5th or 6th grade student to keep there innocents Horizon will not help you to do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female84%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanic89%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female87%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students77%
Female60%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic74%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
Female76%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
102 (2011)
 
97 (2010)
 
101 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

78%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 16%
Two or more races 8% 4%
White 8% 74%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 7%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (614) 846-7696

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1070 Morse Rd
Columbus, OH 43229
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 846-7616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Graham School, The
Columbus, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT