Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Briggs High School

Public | 9-12 | 1064 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

This school is terrible-It may have been decent in the past but this school is absolute horrid now. The teachers aren't half bad, (except for the few that clearly show favoritism) but the coaches and sports facility gets all the special attention. They dont show the Drama or Arts programs any care. If your child is interested in the arts i would NOT go here, they have a terrible theatre department, and the arts are horrible. The administration is wretched too. If you're late more than 8 times (no matter what the situation is) they suspend you. And if you're late more than 3 times (every time after you're late) you go to ISS (which is a dumb anagram for basically saying they're going to put you in a room, and keep you from learning anything whatsoever, for the entire day) They're unjust, and won't give you any freedom of speech, and you can't do or say anything that gives you any personality. They've blocked off half of the things women can wear, it be revealing or not. I was told I can't wear my sweater because It's not long enough. That doesn't make any sense to me what so ever. (I was also wearing pants, i feel i should add) This school is terrible, do not send your child there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

Briggs is a really good school.... I graduated from Briggs in 2007 and the teachers and administration there really cared about academics...and where the students were going after they finished school.... i was very pleased in attending Briggs and will continue to send my children there also!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

As a former student, who graduated in 2005, I can say that Briggs was a good place to get an education, much better than their rivals at West. As with all schools, there's always that one teacher that all students hate, and Briggs was no different, but the better majority of the teachers there actually cared about their students' goals.


Posted July 3, 2008

Briggs is not a safe school teachers and coaches are very unfair and are very rude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

It is good and it would be better if they had the princables from last years 2004-2007.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I transferred my daughter to Briggs in the 10th grade from South High School. We are also transferring our sons there this year(2007). We have been completely satisfied and happy with the teacher, staff and general atmosphere of the school. Our children are very happy there, and we do not regret for one minute the decision that we made to put them into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

I have a freshman in Briggs so this is my first experience with this school. I was extremely impressed with the senior mentor program!!!! My 9th grader did not have the shell shock like I had entering into a new school with so many students and all of the class changes. They showed the kids around to tier classes and offered to help at any point in tier experience as new freshman. All of the seniors were respectful and had ALOT of school spirit you could clearly see that these kids love their school and tier school loves them!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I was in the first graduating class at Briggs in 1978, I now have two children attending there. We have moved recently and my children say they will drop out of school if they can't graduate from Briggs. They have had wonderful help from Mr. Pearl and Miss. Irwin. The teaching staff has changed since I went to school there but the caring for the students and the quality of education is still at the top of the list for a school that has a lot of children attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

I think briggs was a great school. I graduated in 2003 with a college prep diploma, and feel I would have got the same information at any other school in the Columbus area. The activities offer students great experiences and allows parents to get involved also.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 10, 2006

I think briggs is a great school.It relly help prepare for the furture.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2005

My oldest daughter graduated from Briggs in 2003 and my youngest one will graduate this June. The extracurricular activities they offer are awesome. Their show choir has taken 1st place in the Music in the Parks for the last two years. Kathy Leonard has triumphed with this program. Although there have been three administrators in the school since my oldest girl started there in '99 the transition has been smooth. Parents are actively involved in various aspects of the school. The academics are challenging as they offer AP classes to students who wish to participate. Briggs High School has been an awesome experience for my girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have had one son graduate and the teacher quality went up from when I was in school. Now I have a sophmore who is in the LD classes. Those teachers are the best! We have had all kinds of problems with special ed teachers through middle school, but not at briggs. They bend over backwards to meet my sons I.E.P. help him do the best that he can and give the praise he needs to build his self-confidence. My son now enjoys school and wishes for summer to be over so he can get back to school! Briggs is a great school to attend especially for anyone in special ed. Mr. Pearl is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female75%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)46%

Reading

All Students79%
Female84%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled46%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)54%

Science

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islander80%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Disabled27%
Non-disabled62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)29%

Social Studies

All Students65%
Female68%
Male61%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islander>=95%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Disabled35%
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)43%

Writing

All Students71%
Female83%
Male58%
Black, non-Hispanic68%
Asian or Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Disabled15%
Non-disabled80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
87 (2011)
 
86 (2010)
 
90 (2009)
 
94 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

59%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

77%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 74%
Black 27% 16%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian 4% 2%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marcy A. Drafts
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6964

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2555 Briggs Rd
Columbus, OH 43223
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5915

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West High School
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT