Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Dublin, OH
Students enrolled: 1,628
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dublin Coffman High School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated Coffman with a high GPA and went on to a top engineering school's undergraduate and then graduate program in advanced engineering and had no problem keeping a very high GPA (4.+) throughout her studies. Coffman High School provided an excellent preparation for a very difficult, respected and a top 5 ranked engineering college. Considering the diversity of students in income, ethnicity, and a large student population this was an outstanding education and realistically is a great school.

Dublin Coffman High School 4

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
One parent wrote about having an introverted child. Yes, there is something wrong. Being shy is one thing, being an introvert who can't talk to people will be a determent to success all of their lives. Many introverted kids are mercilessly criticized at home. No, don't baby them, but don't run them into the ground either. Part of the high school experience is learning socialization skills to carry one through life. My son loves Coffman and isn't a football star or in marching band. There are plenty of activities for kids with different interests. He and his friends enjoy the football games and have plenty of school spirit. The teachers are great. My only complaint is the physical condition of the school. It looks run down, considering the amount of taxes we pay to live here. Dublin just received another levy, please use some of it to upgrade Coffman. Compared to the other two area high schools, its an embarrassment of deferred maintenance.


Dublin Coffman High School 4

Posted January 28, 2012
- a community member
The word "introvert" is commonly misunderstood. People think it is associated with someone who is shy, lacking social skills, or unpleasant to be around in general. This is not really correct. An introvert is someone who finds strength not from others but from within. They are capable of being happy without others; however, this does not mean they have no friends. They actually require alone time in order to function. Dublin Coffman is an extroverted society, and the students don't understand introverts. Introverts enjoy thinking and analyzing in their own minds, and SOME NOT ALL of them consider social interaction trivial. They are often studious and excellent learners. Dublin parents, don't think your kid is flawed by being an introvert. Know that this is natural, and be proud! He or she will go on to accomplish great things!

Dublin Coffman High School 3

Posted August 13, 2011
- a student
I'm not a parent but a student and have to say that the education offered is top notch. Some of the teachers aren't the best and the school could do a better job of listening when a student is having troubles with a teacher, but overall the teachers are fine. The one thing is the students. If you don't dress, walk or act like "everyone else" you will be ignored and shunned by the majority of the students. It's VERY sports and band oriented so if your not into those things well prepare not to have too many friends. There are a lot of clubs and other activities such as theatre but even that feels like a bad cliche at times. If you're not from a wealthy family you'll have troubles as well because you'll be in the minority and a lot of the students are stuck up while not thinking they're stuck up and know nothing of the world.

Dublin Coffman High School 5

Posted March 31, 2011
- a community member
Large high school with excellent administrators, teachers, and students. Expectations are high. Support is given to those students who find learning difficult. Many different and varied classes and teaching styles. The staff is very professional and skilled. Students are polite, goal oriented, and come from prosperous, goal oriented families.


Dublin Coffman High School 4

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Coffman, and his experience has been great. We were initially concerned about his transition from a small private middle school to a large public high school. He didn't really know anyone AND he is very introverted. His high school experience started by joining marching band which was a great decision. He made friends quickly, not because he was outgoing, but because other band kids befriended and initiated with him. When he was sick some of them brought him brownies and a get well card. They invited him to parties. A senior girl even drove him to school the very first week. I am still amazed by that gesture of kindness. I know this review doesn't mention academics, its too early to comment on that. But a big part of high school experience is social and I give Coffman an A+ in this category.

Dublin Coffman High School 4

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
I've been a student at Coffman for three years. This is a great school if you have lived in Dublin since middle school. As I have talked to many students like myself who have transfered in; its hard to make friends. The students are not very open to new things and are often think that they are entitled to everything. The school, itself, is great because it has so many classes, sports and extra curriculars to offer, but the people are not.

Dublin Coffman High School 4

Posted July 29, 2009
- a student
I've been a student at Coffman for the past two years and I have enjoyed my time there. I don't agree that all students are spoiled. My family isn't rich and almost all of my friends have jobs so they don't have to rely on their parents. Sports events bring the students together and we have so many clubs that it's practically impossible to not find a program to be a part of. Also, we have a program called L.I.N.K. where students are assigned a new student to show around the school and hang out with. It's true that some students talk about drugs and alcohol (not everyone) but that can be found in almost every school. We have a program called T.I. that teaches kids to be drug free. One downfall is that there are tons of students (around 1700) but I still think Coffman is a great school :)


Dublin Coffman High School 2

Posted April 24, 2009
- a student
Academic-wise, this school is very good. Send your student here if they are either extroverted or if they don't mind studying alone, because if he is introverted, it is not very likely that any of the students in this building will reach forward a hand of friendship. The students, coming from a rich neighborhood, are very spoiled and have not learned to be humble. The students are not very open to things unfamiliar to them. Only a few people will accept different ways of dressing or walking, etc. and even those will not step forward to offer friendship.

Dublin Coffman High School
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
The single reason we moved to Dublin was its school district, and we have not been disappointed. Coffman High School especially is a great school. The vast majority of teachers are great. the school has many AP courses, and clearly focuses on academics, although sports and band participation is also big. The principal is outstanding. My son has asperger's syndrome, and the kids in the school are very patient and understanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dublin Coffman High School
6780 Coffman Rd, Dublin, OH  43017
(614) 764-5900
Last modified Dublin Coffman High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dublin Coffman High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top