Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midview Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 600 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2013

I'm a student and let me tell you, it's absolutely awful. It seems like we learn the same thing every single year -- and I hate the majority of the students. This school isn't recommended if your child is socially challenged and/or has high anxiety. The teachers have a nicer


Posted November 14, 2013

I am the parent of a 2013-14 7th grader. That being said, the administration for the middle school and the superintendent are nothing but bullies! They make it a daily point to call my daughter down and harass her about things that are out of her control. Like my medical conditions. Due to my conditions (that I work very closely with my doctors about) my student is sometimes late (no more that 10 minutes ever). I have offerd any medical proof they want and each time it is denied. I attempted to talk to both the principal and the superintenden, both times I was talked down to and made to feel like a bad parent. The superintendent actually had the ordasity to compare my medical condition to a parent who lets their children wear inappropriate clothing! Insinuating that I am purposely causing problems. Trust me when you're looking for a good school district Midview IS NOT the right choice!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

I'm a student at the school, and I wouldnt want to go anywhere else. the teachers are always there to help and it is a great environment. in my opinion, one of the best teachers there is mrs. spears. she is great, and she cares about all of her students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2008

im a student.seventh graderrr(: fisrt year in midview middle and its great! of course i dontv really like the times i have to wake up to gte there, but the school is very nice.one teacher, mrs.holland, shes the best! so nice to everyone, shes like a great friend, not a teacher! you learn so much, but without text books and tons of worksheets.its where you can go and learn things about life.its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

I am a student here and the teachers are great but the kids are just terrible they will make fun of your child so do not go here
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2004

I'm a student there and it is the best school you could go to, all the teachers are high quality, each does their best to help you understand the material you need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2003

I'm actually a student there and I think the environment is great. I wouldnt choose to go anywhere else because almost all of the teachers there are more than just teachers-they're friends and they care about what is going on. one teacher that I had in 7th grade(Mr. Guildoo) was a superior teacher-students trusted him with secrets and could go to him for anything they needed.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female80%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabled23%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabled52%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled35%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled55%
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabled38%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 7MetAbove
Grade 8MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
95 (2011)
 
95 (2010)
 
90 (2009)
 
93 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 74%
Black 2% 16%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 12%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37999 Capel Rd
Grafton, OH 44044
Phone: (440) 748-2122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT