Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
322 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 343 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
i dont know if i am allowed to say any names but there was a teacher of the 9th for algebra that really made my daughter feel very confident in math and listened instead of interrupted everything she said and treated her better than her intervention specialist but because of all the overwhelming work she needed to work on she couldn’t really get caught up enough

Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
Some are good some are sickening to watch teach and they make kids feel as though they are stupid and teach in a way that diminishes there self esteem and i am a parent that watched more than 30 sessions with my child’s intervention specialist and watched her physical reactions and seen the tears fall from her eyes and observed her self esteem after these sessions that seemed like they were designed to make her feel she was incapable of learning sessions that seemed drawn out and focused to much on what she already knew


Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
NO!!!!!!!!! if anything they make your child feel they will never feel good enough the kids have nothing but pressure and anxiety associated to this program. this school destroys persistence, grit, and determination because there is always a problem they cant get help with and it is unrealistic to expect them to complete more that fifty assignments on time its more like torture instead of healthy mentally

Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
No because i think with the poor curriculum and the way teachers interrupt the students when they need help shows a student to be disrespectful to authority and that they themselves aren’t worthy of respect as an individual because there teachers aren’t giving them the respect in a conversation they deserve. also the whole system is a perfect example of how the school is inconsiderate of how kids see things they dont care if there program is visually overwhelming they wouldn’t change it

Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
No!! my daughter learned the opposite because her teacher had a false facade of caring and kept treating her bad when she was uncomfortable with the way she was being talked to and she did nothing to change the way she talked to her which made it obvious she didn’t care. Her teacher seemed more apathetic and uncompassionate


Virtual Community School Of Ohio
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a community member
The subject of history leaves out key figures of history and i have to step in and tell them things that is being left out which shows my student its okay to lie and sugar coat the truth which is wrong

Virtual Community School Of Ohio 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a teacher
Great school! Each course is taught by a state-certified teacher there to help the students succeed!

Virtual Community School Of Ohio 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a community member
I love the personal attention each student is given at Virtual Community School of Ohio!! As a teacher at VCS, I feel truly blessed to work with such an amazing group of students, parents, and teachers!!


Virtual Community School Of Ohio 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Excellent teachers, great administration, and a top-notch curriculum. VCS puts STUDENTS and their families FIRST... above all else!!! I can not say enough positive things about VCS Ohio, and think they are the BEST public online charter school in Ohio! I would highly recommend VCS Ohio to anyone looking for great online K-12 education!!!!

Virtual Community School Of Ohio 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
VCS has excellent teachers who are on top of things and always get right back to you. i have spoke with both principals a few times and they always willingly answer any questions. They also have helped immediately with any issues we've had and that has only been one. This has by far been the best online school we've been in. The teachers are so nice and communicate well with myself and my kids. We've only had a few tech issues and the help desk has been great at getting them resolved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Virtual Community School Of Ohio
340 Waggoner Road, Reynoldsburg, OH  43068
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 343 reviews. (614) 501-9473
Last modified Virtual Community School Of Ohio is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top