Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Crest Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

We have been with Oak Crest for two years in the Special Needs PreK. Last year we had Mrs. Dersham and this year we have Mrs. McCoy. I can not say enough good things about these teachers. Mrs. McCoy has great communication with her parents and is always available to discuss anything. We also love our para this year, Mrs. Henry. My son in non verbal and it is great to see him interacting and finding new ways to communicate and improving every day. The school is in a transition state this year with the old building being redone. Even with the chaos, our classroom has been very organized and inviting this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Hard working staff and administration! Sometimes it seems like Oak Crest is on the back burner of BAPS priorities, but the staff power through the tough times and love the children they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

i will start off by saying i have three children who have all attended oakcrest.my oldest who graduated this year started there in 3rd grade when our school closed.as the years have gone on our school has become horrible.we used to have incentives for the kids when they accomplished things(ie,dog tags lunch with the principal,pizza parties,etc)we had two carnivals a year,a talents show,and so on.now we have nothing but the two book fairs every year.we continue to lose great teachers and lost a wonderful vice principal this past year.i cannot say for sure why but i have heard rumors that it could be our principal causing the losses.i know form my experience she is very hands off.i would get a transfer but it is close to impossible to get one in broken arrow.hopefully the school board will take notice soon and get us some real leadership in office,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

On met your Teacher Day, I found the process very hectic and confusing with all the parents and children going to the media area or cafeteria to find the class assignments for students. In addition, you were handed forms to fill out in the area, this caused a backup of individuals, making for a very, very congested area. I feel that it would have been better for the parents to accompany their child to the assigned teacher (list posted on a window) to met and fill out forms. We are trying to feel good about the school and hope the organizational structure is better in the future. The size of the school is a positive and am in hopes that more one-on-one instruction will be available to students to prepare them for the school year ahead. Have not been able to find on BA's website the credentials/ratings of teachers, this would helpful to know how long a teacher has been teaching and if she/he is still energetic about education.


Posted July 11, 2010

I think Oak Crest is a great school. I had three children attend Oak Crest, one of which has Asperger's Syndrome. From Kindergarten through 2nd grade, while we lived in Broken Arrow, there were 4 teachers and a coach that stayed many times after school to assist my son and help ensure that he learned what he needed to learn to progress. None of them whined or complained; they were happy to do it. One dedicated teacher even took my son into her classroom during the summer program to help him stay on track and keep him from losing all that he had gained during the year. This is a great school with many teachers who genuinely care about their students, and want those students to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

This school has cry babies for teachers. The prinicipal and staff cares about numbers only not the students. I have found that through the years this school has not changed except maybe gotten worse. The teachers are so concerned about staying after school a few minutes to help a student- they dont want to add anytime to their daily schedules or their work load, but donate your time and money as a parent and please your money!! I just about fell out of my chair when the first day of meet the teacher the teacher gave a crummy opening talk then turned over to another specialty teacher,, hahaha,,, and all she could do is talk about numbers and give money and pta,,, give money , give money,,, they get money from what I pay in taxes and I wish they did not. I hate paying for something that is just worthless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Teachers work overtime and spend countless hours even during the summer to spend time at work shops and read educational articles to improve their performance and to help our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Love the school and love the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2003

After having 3 children go through this school I can confidently say it is the greatest! Oak Crest teachers are caring, dedicated and professional. They are work to make school a positive experience and to instill a lifetime love of learning into the children. The positive, 'Can Do' attitude of the teachers and staff is both contagious and exciting. No wonder Oak Crest is the home of the 'Can Do Kids!'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 59%
Hispanic 12% 14%
Native American 8% 16%
Black 3% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 147%N/A61%
Special education 219%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 East Richmond
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Phone: (918) 259-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit Christian Academy
Broken Arrow, OK




Rhoades Elementary School
Broken Arrow, OK


New Covenant Academy
Broken Arrow, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT