Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marshall T. Moore Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 482 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2010

It's located in a nice neighborhood. Teachers & stuff are great. Kids love those talented programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

We were apprehensive about moving our children to a public school, but after our first tour, we felt better already. Both of my children are in the gifted & talented program, which has been a blessing. The teachers have all been receptive to meeting with us when we've had concerns or questions. The PTA is very active and has done a lot of good for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Great school with an incredible fifth grade teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

Our daughter is in her 5th year at Moore Elementary and we have been pleased with all her teachers as well as the school's curriculum. However, the principal is unwilling to address parental concerns regarding lack of recess time and other issues. She is completely closed, defensive, and rude in discussions with parents whose opinions differ from hers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Our son is now in second grade at Moore. We are so pleased with this school! Wonderful parent involvement, great teachers and dedicated staff. Our son is having a great experience at Moore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

Wonderful teachers and parents. Active and caring PTA. My kids have been here for the past 3 years and all needs, academically and emotionally have been met with flying colors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

This school is only a couple of years old. The teachers and staff are the best. My children over excell in math and reading. I think it is due to the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 2%
Hispanic 13% 14%
Black 8% 9%
Native American 4% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 131%N/A61%
Special education 28%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 North Butternut Avenue
Broken Arrow, OK 74012
Phone: (918) 357-4337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Peters Elementary School
Broken Arrow, OK






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT