Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Choctaw, OK
Students enrolled: 1,521

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Choctaw High School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a student
I thought this school would be better, but the band director is rather rude. I went for a brief period last year and the staff were rather apathetic towards individual students. Also, students tend to bully each other and there is definitely a drug problem.

Choctaw High School 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a teacher
Chotcaw iz vrey guod sckool I laern alote their. I like teh sckool vrey muhc its so muhc fun their. I onyl gott beatted up their twicce must of teh poepl are nice their. 1 of teh poepl their tryedd to hit me wit his car I runned four myy llfe.

Choctaw High School 1

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
The band program is fair. The head band director often harasses students and generally always has a bad attitude towards the students. The directors' approach to attempt to motivate the students to practice or learn is almost generally by insult, or making jokes against a students person. The marching program is OK, and is the best it has been in history. Having said that, the marching itself is far superior to the way the group plays musically. The main directors also teach middle school band classes, where they have been known to act like they don't even want to be there; and to waste time instructors often talk whole class periods to avoid playing. My child has been constantly complaining to me since they started band in middle school. My child chooses to stay in band because through the band is the only way to access competitions like state solo contests, and honor bands. Additionally, the directors don't encourage students to participate in honor band auditions or single activities of the like. Only those who find out through private study under another teacher from university find out and participate. Very sad situation here. Wish there could be something done.

Choctaw High School 4

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
The Bio-med program at CHS is the best. The teacher has high expectations of her students. Students are prepared for future medical classes. The band program is excellent. The directors are a husband/wife team who find a way to make every band student feel a part of the program.

Choctaw High School 1

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
So far I am extremely disappointed in this school for my 'special needs' child. This school groups all of them in one classroom, not by the degree of special need they are. He is doing first grade work now in 9th grade when last year he was multiplying fractions. We have seen a 'regression' in speech and other areas he was caught up with other 'normal' students.

Choctaw High School 2

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
CHS is beginning to make positive strides, both in terms of facilities and curriculum. However, for the school and its students to reach their true potential, more emphasis must be given to the quality of teaching. Choctaw should continue to recruit and hire teachers who do not fear being "measured," by the progress of their students. If the district hopes to continue attracting residential development, no effort should be spared, to improve the quality of the teaching staff. Finally, educators at CHS must find a way to attract more parental involvement. There is likely a direct inverse correlation between the lack of parent participation and Choctaw's extraordinarily high drop-out rate. A bright future awaits this school, if only it will continue to move forward.

Choctaw High School 0
no rating

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Good school, trying to get better... low rankings in science and math highlight the need for improved curriculum delivery. If Carl Albert can rate an 8, so can Choctaw. The future is bright for our school.

Choctaw High School 4

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
Great school district---great teachers who love and care for our children.

Choctaw High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Choctaw High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Choctaw High School
14300 Northeast 10th Street, Choctaw, OK  73020
(405) 390-8899
Last modified Choctaw High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Choctaw High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top