Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Heritage Academy

Private | PK-12 | 660 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Del City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2012

Although it is a great sacrifice to able to send my 3 children to this school, it is well worth the investment. This school isn't perfect (as their is NO perfect institution where sinful man is involved) but I have entrusted the care of my children to the faculty and staff here and have not been disappointed. Not all of the families/students who attend CHA are Christian...and not all hold to a Biblical World View (as evidenced by comments here from CHA drop-outs)...but the Administration and Faculty ARE believers, and go through rigorous "pre-screening" before being hired...(too bad the families admitted do not have to have the same type of screening). This school is NOT a Christian public school...it is an Academy. The work is hard, the hours are long, and the parent involment is significant. If you are looking for an easy A, stay in public school! If you are looking for a place to explore "world views", stay in public school! If you are racist, stay in public school (we DO have black students at CHA!) If you don't want to hear Jesus preached, stay in public school! I am a public school teacher and I've seen both sides.. I will never send my children to public school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I am an alumni of Christian Heritage Academy, as well as a parent with 2 students currently attending this school. I think when choosing a school, parents should be seeking a school that not only builds their child up for academic success but lay the foundations for spiritual success as well. My academic, professional, and spiritual success is in large part due to the teachings I received at this fine school. You would be hard pressed to find more qualified teachers, that love the Lord, and love your child, and see teaching as a higher calling. It is not a perfect environment, and with every man made institution has certainly made mistakes and moves forward to improve with the Lord's help. My children are thriving in this environment, happy to go to school, and testing off the charts in academic success. Not to mention that among the alumni I graduated with are, large business owners, oil-company presidents, lawyers, pastors, and elected government officials, as well as successful parents and community leaders. The proof is in the pudding. When choosing a school, avoid parents with personal bias's and underlying agendas. Seek out the results, interview the alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I came to this school around the end of my elemetary years from a public school. In my opinion if you did not start out at CHA from the begining, (Pre-K through 1st Grade) you will a extremely hard time catching up. Everything is taught from their (higher staff) perspective and the students seem to be very sheltered from what really happens in this world. I am back in public school and have met many other students from CHA that have somewhat of the same views as I do, and after going to CHA for a year or two returned to public school also. I did not have a good experience with this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2011

My son is in his third year at CHA, he started in PreK, and is now in 1st grade. My husband and I could not be happier with this school, it puts God first, and consistently turns out good students. The method of teaching works, and their ACT scores prove it. The teachers truly care about their students, and are in constant contact with the parents to keep them updated and aware of what is going on with their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

As a single parent, it was a huge sacrifice to send my child to CHA. However, it was and continues to be an absolute blessing the 8 years she has attended. Strict, yes, academically challenging, yes, Christ centered? Yes. Isn't that why we send our children to a private Christian school? Teachers would babysit on weekends when I had to work. Took her home after school if I had to work late, etc. Many teachers have been there for over 20 years. That says alot!They love these children as their own and I wouldn't trade our experience for the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Im terribly sorry to ruin this 'religious' (see- Fundamental Southern Baptist) school's 5 star rating, but considering half the classes are biblical jokes, with history, science, and the few electives being taught the same thing- Jesus said it would happen', I must. Thats it. No real world experience, no viewpoint but the one mandated by the cult that is the faculty, who, mind you, are all part of one huge family. You like evolution? Get out. Your Catholic? Bye Bye. Your black? You wont even get in. Your not religious? Prepare to have Christianity shoved down your throat. Oh, and over half the student body does some sort of drug, be it weed, alcoholic, but mostly dip (ie the baseball/mediocre football team) If you have aspirations of becoming a preacher or plan on attending a community college, this place if for you. If not, leave. Now
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2009

Great academics, great culture, great athletics, great student focus. Model school!


Posted March 8, 2008

I am alumni of the school and have a daughter in Prek there currently. Bar none, best private school around. Academics and environment are terrific and Biblical approach is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

It's so great to be able to go to a school where you can concentrate on your acedemics and harldy have to worry about what the world thinks of you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2007

I have had the privilege of teaching at Christian Heritage for almost two decades. The quality of education and the quality of leadership have proved life-changing to students, their families, their churches, and their communities. It is a unique school in that it implements the Biblical classical form of education known as the Principle Approach. I have seen this methodology and philosophy of education produce independent scholars, many of whom go on to fulfill the school's ultimate purpose - to propagate the gospel and to restore the American republic to its historic Biblical foundation. My life has been changed by being a teacher here. I wish we had enough room to educate all the students whose parents want them to attend CHA! The nation would be radically changed and countless lives would be mightily impacted.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2006

Our daughter has attended CHA for 9 years, and we feel the school is one of the best private schools in the state. God's word guides all the school teaches, through our principle based education programs, and the academic and athletic programs offer multiple opportunities (such as band, debate, girls sports) for students to excel. All grades have high levels of parent support, and there is a true sense of family throughout the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

Christian Heritage Academy is a great school if your child excells. The classes are very challenging, and the school really teaches the students to be responsible. Every teacher is willing to help the student in his/her academics. Each class also teaches from a Christian point-of-view.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2005

Wow! What a God Blessed school CHA is. We've had one graduate in 2003 and another still enrolled. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend CHA as the place your child will learn excellent academics and have their soul fed as well. Check it out. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

Some private schools are so small, they are not able to offer as much as the public schools. That is not the case at CHA. Our children are offered a variety of sports, academic and other extra curricular activities in a spiritual atmosphere. They are taught that serving and representing Christ in a positive light is more important than the outcome. This allows them to focus on Christ and give Him the glory when they are successful (which they frequently are). If you are looking for the best, well-rounded Christian education for your child, CHA is worth the drive! Parents are highly involved and the teachers sincerely love our children as if they were their own. We are like one big, happy family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

CHA provides a strong biblical background to all aspects of study. Their emphasis on the student's own character, self-government and salvation is what distinguishes it from other schools. Academics are very strong and students are well prepared to go on to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We homeschooled our children until the oldest was in the 9th and the youngest was in the 7th. We have felt so blessed to have Christian Heritage teach our children. They have learned much about life, spiritual maturity and have been challenged scholastically. My oldest will be ready for college when he graduates this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 54%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 2% 10%
Hispanic 1% 13%
Two or more races 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Josh Bullard
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma Baptist University
University of Central Oklahoma
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4400 Southeast 27th Street
Del City, OK 73115
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 672-1787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Destiny Christian School
Oklahoma City, OK



Kerr Middle School
Del City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT