Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
269 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oklahoma Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Politics and constant hounding for fundraising, terrible elementary principal. Very judgemental and NOT a Christian environment.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 1

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
The elementary principal is terrible, she is constantly reminding new coming parents that all the kids who started kindergarten together are a family and new kids are outsiders and she treats them as such. They also hound you and make you feel bad for not donating to their additional causes

Oklahoma Christian Academy 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
Huge improvements have been made over the past few years at OCA. We moved our 2 elementary children from edmond public schools to OCA this past year and they were WAY behind and they were making straight A's @ edmond schools. The academic level is much higher than their previous school. because of this I know they will be much better prepared for college. The sports are competitive there and they even have a great elementary althletic department. They have chapel everyday and enjoy learning other subjects with a christian perspective. We love OCA and highly recommend it.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 2

Posted January 30, 2015
- a parent
Small school where kids can be involved in many activities, however, most activities take a back seat to boys sports. Lots of politics with the administration and very closed to working with parents' ideas. Advanced classes and student/teacher ratio are not as advertised. Academics are not emphasized like sports and discipline seems to be based on how valuable the child is as an athlete or their family is to the school. Disappointing move for us, make sure you do your research.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 1

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
School Admin and teachers are set in their ways and are not willing to adjust to help children learn. Class size is larger than advertised, 1st grade class was the same as Public school with 21 students. Amenities and resources are not on par with other private schools in the area that offer a much cheaper tuition rate. Environment is not so "Christian" with staff being judgemental and political. Better more affordable private schools in the area, do your research!

Oklahoma Christian Academy 4

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
Advertised student to teacher ratio are lower than actual. 2014 1st grade class and 2015 2nd grade have 20 students with a teacher and aide. Academics are good, Christian learning is excellent, ACT scores are on par with Edmond public schools.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
We love OCA. We appreciate the small family like environment. There are quality teachers that really care about the student as a person, not just another name on the list. The small school gives the students many opportunities to be involved that they might not have at a large school.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
As a parent of two students who graduated from OCA, I can tell you that The Academy is a fabulous place. The academic and spiritual environment give students the tools they need to be successful. Students are not just one more face in the classroom they are loved as they are taught and gently guided by excellent teachers. Students can participate in many extracurricular activities - from service projects, to athletics, to academic meets and more. I strongly urge you to visit Oklahoma Christian Academy if you want something different and wonderful for your child.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
What a blessing to be able to get a good education in a teaching environment where christianity is not just implied but applied. Teachers are encouraged to teach biblical principles and use scriptures as they illustrate and teach. We've also enjoyed living in Edmond and still being able to provide for our children a small school atmosphere where everyone has a chance to be involved in music, sports and acedemic events.

Oklahoma Christian Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. The staff is very attentive to our children and I love how secure I feel with my son at OCA. You must be on a list to pick up a child and if they don't know who you are you have to show Id. The curriculum is fast paced but with the small class size my son is a grade level and half ahead of his peers at the local schools. The Christian atmosphere is truly a blessing and has a significant effect on our son.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oklahoma Christian Academy
1101 East 9th Street, Edmond, OK  73034
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (405) 488-6478
Last modified Oklahoma Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top