Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Creek Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
Most of the students are horrible, pseudo mature, and bratty. The school holds way too much fundraisers, and will try to squeeze the money out of you. It is a horrible school, and the biggest mistake I have ever made was sending my children here. IT IS A HORRIBLE SCHOOL, do not go here!

Deer Creek Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
We transferred to Deer Creek after years in private schools. This school out shines any of the private schools they attended - parents, teachers, administration and counselors have been outstanding and helpful.

Deer Creek Middle School 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
Deer Creek Middle School not only has a world class facility, the teachers and administrators are extremely talented. We've been blown away by their engagement in creating a great learning environment and focus on the student experience. The district is growing very quickly and they've continued to make adjustments to address the pains involved in growth district.

Deer Creek Middle School 2

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
I'm unimpressed. DC schools are politically motivated. ..money motivated. It's easy to brag about test scores for upper middle class white kids from 2 parent homes with college educated parents. There are cliques here that are super hurtful and you can't fit in unless you make tons of money n

Deer Creek Middle School 4

Posted November 14, 2012
- a community member
Every once in a while you come across a teacher who is just...awesome. They care about your success, and help you achieve it. I have found several teachers like this here at DC. They make up for some lousiness at the school...

Deer Creek Middle School 1

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
I agree that the leadership and counselors are ineffective. There needs to be some major changes at this school. Our daughter has been in this school district since kindergarten and we have loved it here....until now. Very disappointed in how things are handled, how some of the teachers treat the kids, and what goes on at this school that is just ignored.

Deer Creek Middle School 1

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
There are little cliques in this school that are very hurtful to kids on the outside, especially for the girls. The leadership does not seem willing or able to address it . The counselors are seemingly ineffective and do more harm than good, i.e. counseling the offender and the victim side-by-side, hence the bully's view prevails. I am sure they are trying but they have a lot of work to do.

Deer Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
They are 'great bunch of parents, teachers, staff and students!'

Deer Creek Middle School 1

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
I am a student at Deer Creek Middle School and I am not very impressed with this school. I think that most of the girls are snotty and think they the center of attention. It's like they form cliques and unless you've known them your life they will just ignore you. Also the kids think that if you are not from Oklahoma you are not worth talking to. If I were a parent i would not send my kids to this school.

Deer Creek Middle School 3

Posted June 09, 2008
- a student
I have been at Deer Creek since 1st grade and in elementary it was great! But when I hit middle school it all went down hill... fast. So many girls doing bad things, a lot of pressure to have these certain things (clothes, purses, cell phones, electronics, etc.), and the teachers didn't seem to really want to connect and help us learn. Now I have had a few teachers that were just great, but others didn't care. Also we are growing like no other! They can barely fit us in the school and 30 kids to a small room. Principal leadership is not very good, neither counsler or teacher leadership. Eventually most kids get lost like I did- unless they are 'popular', but not in the good way... It is just growing way to fast!! So I am getting out of that mess and going to a different school.

Nearby schools

Deer Creek Middle School
234 North Boulevard Street, Edmond, OK  73034
(405) 348-4830
Last modified Deer Creek Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top