Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cimarron Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2012

Great school. Having taught there for 26 years, it has had it's changes. Out of all the middle schools in Edmond, this is the one I would always recommend no matter what. It has great students, faculty and staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2012

The teachers are fantastic, but the students are very rude nowadays. A lot of bullies go on in school yet the principal won't do anything about it but the vice principal does. A lot of students there are very educated. I was a student there once; my 8th grade teachers were awesome and I found my real friends there. Beware of busy hallways and teachers being very strict about being tardy(only some teachers). Do not worry about your child on the first day of school, he or she will do fantastic on the first day of 6th grade.


Posted March 25, 2012

Everybody is so friendly. It's not such a stuggle fitting in. All of my siblings went to Cimarron for middle school. All of us have been successful in what we wanted to achieve. The teachers taught us that it's okay to ask questions if you don't understand.


Posted January 12, 2011

All my children have been to Cimmaron, and they all agree it was better than high school and elementary school. This school has given my family great joy! I recommend this school to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

The new principal, Mr. North, is a joy-- and a huge, fresh, new (sorely needed) addition to Cimarron. I've found the majority of teachers this year to be outstanding and really know my child. The halls are orderly and the climate seems to have taken a turn for the better-- not just settling for, as the previous posts state... mediocrity. Time will tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

Conformity is definitely key here. Do not allow your child to think outside of the box. Only 2 activities that involve after school for children that are not athletic, and one involves being voted in. They are overly concerned with appearances- not particulary the children, but the administration. The education aspect is decent, the teachers try hard once you take the initiative to find and converse with them. The administration has nothing to do with the family or child unless there is a problem. I was raised in Edmond, attended this school even, and am sorely disappointed at what Edmond has turned into. Cimarron alone has convinced me to sell my house and move out of district to ensure my children get a decent education with a school that truly tries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Mediocrity at its best! This school could be so much more. but the path to mediocrity seems too inviting for the leadership. Not welcoming at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Mediocrity rules in all areas! The leadership is poorly lacking and do not seem to ever encourage parent involvement. Our child has not been challenged much at all. It could be soooo much more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

My daughter loves cimarron. She comes home everyday talking about her teachers and all the fun stuff they did. Ive met her teachers and they are all very active in cimarron.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

This overall is a great school. The teachers are amazing. This school is very safe and well obeyed. As I said the teachers are all very helpful and are great leaders. This school also has a great academic team and good coaches for sporty children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

This is a great school with great teachers. Administration tries but needs to improve. I just wish they had more after school programs that didn't involve sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

When researching school districts, I found many sources stating that Edmond has exceptional schools, but the reality has yet to live up to the reputation. While the teachers are very good, the administration leaves much to be desired. The old saying about 'one hand not knowing what the other is doing' is certainly true of this school. There are vice principals for each grade which creates a tendancy for your child to become lost in the system. The population of the school is less than welcoming of newcomers, which as a military parent I found problematic.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

220 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 59%
Black 11% 9%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Native American 3% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A61%
Special education 214%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 South Bryant
Edmond, OK 73013
Phone: (405) 340-2935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT