Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Russell Dougherty Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2011

Love, love this school! It is the smallest elementary in Edmond and has a family feel to it. Great parental involvement and the teachers truely care about the students here. We're very happy that my son got in and excited to have our daughter there next year! I just wished there was a little more diversity, but with it being a small elementary in Edmond, I guess it's as diverse as it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I love Russell Dougherty it was a great transition for me and my child with moving here from Tennessee. Everyone here truley care about your child! I will miss this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I am a parent of former students of Russell Dougherty, My mother taught school there until the 1990's, and I completed 6th grade there as well. I have very good things to say about the school, it's teachers, and administration. For your children to attend a better elementary school near Edmond you would need to go to pay tuition at a private school like Christian Academy. It is top notch and everyone there is dedicated to the success of the students. If you want your kids here then plan ahead, and also plan to wait in line as there is a long waiting list to get into this maganet school.


Posted November 6, 2009

We have been involved with this school for five years and we feel that it's the greatest elementary school in Edmond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

We have been a part of this school since 2006, we currently have two children enrolled and love the attention that they are given. The teachers are warm and engaging. It has been a positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Russell Dougherty has been wonderful for my two children. We have one child in fifth grade in 2006-2007 school year and one child in second grade. Truly it's been a wonderful experience all around. The parent involvement is just amazing in the spring Enrichment Clusters as well as in the classrooms each day. I will cherish the memories we've created and the entire faculty is both warm and welcoming to parents. Our hope is that RD will keep to it's core mission and continue for more generations of children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2006

My children are loving Russell Dougherty! They are academically chalenged, which is a change from the other Edmond elementary school they attended. The staff is wonderful. The Spanish program is exceptional. The girls have learned so much. There are many chances for parents to be involved. You will never feel unwelcome here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

My daughter is attending Russell Dougherty for her 3rd year and we are extremely pleased with the school as a whole. The teachers, support staff, and parents are all very visible and know most every student by name! The school is warm and inviting and makes the parents as well as students feel at home. The PTO is a wonderful organization and creates many opportunities for the RD family. My child struggled going into kindergarten and now excels at reading and loves math! She is always singing something from music or Eagle Beat and loves translating words into Spanish. The teachers are extremely well qualified, and offer a diverse approach to teaching as well as learning. They all truly care about their students and spend lots of quality one on one time getting to know them and their families and helping them learn and preparing them for the future! Carla
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

This is my first year as a Russell Dougherty parent I have found the teachers to be kind to students and the programs to be very well thought out.The focus is on giving the best rounded education possible to all students. The school incourages parents participation and the parent teacher organization is wonderful. Thank you Russell Dougherty for a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

My daughter has currently been going to Russell Dougherty going on 3years. The staff are wonderful and they all work with you if your child is having any kind of problems. The parents are very active in the school, which is an encouragement to me as a single working parent. The atmosphere there is wonderfull, I could not have chosen a better school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

My daughter attended Russell Dougherty from 3rd to 5th grade. The teachers are excellent, and the small atmosphere is wonderful and so personal. My daughter has done extremely well in middle school this year, even skipping 6th grade Spanish, and going on to 7th grade Spanish. I attribute that to the wonderful instruction she received at Russell Dougherty. The Spanish program from Kindergarten on up is a wonderful asset to the children. The school itself is warm and inviting, and creates a homey feel. It is truly a home for students during the school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 54%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 5% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 17%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 North Blvd
Edmond, OK 73034
Phone: (405) 340-2985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT