Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

El Reno High School

Public | 9-12 | 826 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2009

El Reno High School has a long, outstanding tradition, and is one of the few remaining schools that has not lost its early historical architecture! Students have dedicated teachers, who really put 'extra' effort in seeing students achieve all they can be!


Posted May 25, 2009

Don't buy the comments saying '...it's getting better.' It isn't. Just check the test scores, and you'll see just how poor this school does academically. Most of the teachers I had don't teach. They just handed out work, and told us to do it. Then, they sat back and complained about their job--The one they don't do. If you want your child to think with innovation, avoid this school. They'll only teach them to do what they're told(No matter how ludacris the rules) The counselors and teachers aren't there for children, in the slightest--No matter how far out of hand the peer pressure gets. And in short they don't even care about what they're doing. There are schools nearby that aren't this way. I suggest you look into those for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

This is an outstanding school. There is a multitude of options for each kid. I go there now and will be graduating soon. It deals with problems very well. I would want to see my kids go there. It is fighting back against the reputation it once has. It is no longer like that. It is a great place to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2007

I'm a current student and the curriculum has increased dramatically since 2000. Peer pressure is a common epidemic that happens in all school. The teachers constantly encourage their students to succeed and my class does not make fun of those who do succeed. We are very competitive academically. Many of us are ready for the real world. My counselor has been there for me through all of my college choices. She calls them for me and has even found out different information on them. Don't read the other posts and get the wrong idea. El Reno is expanding and always becoming better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2006

I graduated from EHS in 2004. My parents just adopted a baby and they have already decided she will not attend this school. Now that I am in college, I see that I am extremely far behind the other students at my college. I was not prepared for the future while I was in high school. I asked my counselor for advice on college and she handed me a booklet. I did not start college until over a year after I graudated from EHS. By my Junior/Senior year at EHS, I was so ready to get out because I was tired of the petty fights, the peer pressure, and the nonsense that I could not stand the thought of college. Honestly, I would not recommend this high school to anyone moving to this area. I would check into other schools nearby.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2004

I am not a parent but a graduate from ERHS. I believe that academic standards are not set high enough for this school. Students do not seem pushed to excell above and beyond their capabilities by the faculity. In comparison to the people I have attended college with the last 5 years they seem to have received much more academic opportunity from their neighboring schools than seems to be given at ERHS. ERHS does have great potential and seems to be making improvements with the academic choices being offered. In the future I hope to see an extensive range of graduates from ERHS that are prepared to be more competitive for the college or job market.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 11, 2004

Peer pressure runs rampant, the teachers are unimaginative, the students are trained to follow rules and directions rather than to think critically. Students who show true academic talent are ridiculed by their peers and silenced by their teachers. If you want your child to have a blue-collar job, then this is the school for you. If, on the other hand, you want your child to aspire to a high-level career, then send him or her to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I moved to this school in 2000 my junior year and it was the best thing that ever happend to me. I wish I had always gone to school there and wish for my children to have the same experience
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

152 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

189 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

170 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 18% 18%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Black 5% 10%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

407 South Choctaw
El Reno, OK 73036
Phone: (405) 262-3254

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Union City High School
Union City, OK







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT