Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Inola Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 540 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2010

I use to think this school was great. But, things are changing for the worse. Everyone is so worried about test scores, that there are alot of students not getting the REAL teaching they need. I care if my child LEARNS TO SPELL AND READ, NOT HOW FAST THEY CAN SPELL AND READ. Who cares!!!!! Isn't what matters if they truely learn! And, how can you learn if an entire day is taken away from a school week. So, my rating is a 1. I have and will voice my opinion and am seriously thinking about transferring. I have done research at other elementary schools and they don't do the same and their schools are rating higher. What does that say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My daughter is receiving a 'country' education. They do not challenge her nearly enough and now that they have cut down to only 4 days a week...she will suffer more. The school lunches are lacking in nutrition. And as with all schools in this day and age...they expect me to do the work of a teacher...guess what, I don't want to be a teacher. I am a parent. There are people that get paid to teach my child and I should only have to follow up with these things.Drives me crazy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

So far, I have nothing but good to say about this school. My daughter is in Pre-k in Mrs. Thompson's class and she absolutely adores her. I can only hope that my youngest will get to be in her class next year too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Having put my kids through four different school systems over several years, we moved to the little town of Inola. Here we found one of the best schools systems anyone could want for their children! The entire staff at all three schools really care about your kids and want what is best for them just like you do. I have seen a great improvement in all three of my childrens grades and they no longer say the words 'I hate this school!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

The teachers are very good to the children. The Elementary principle is below standard. I removed my kids after 1 year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

I feel that inola elementary is the greatest school in Oklahoma. My children have only been going to inola schools since September 2006. My sons grades have improved drastically. I just could not even dream of a better school for my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 21% 18%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian 2% 2%
Black 2% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 N.W. B St
Inola, OK 74036
Phone: (918) 543-2271

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT