Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lawton Academy of Arts and Sciences

Private | PK-12 | 120 students

Gifted/Talented Education

 

Living in Lawton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

This is a great elementary school. It is a good environment for gifted young students who need to be challenged in grade school. The elementary staff is excellent, and the curriculum is better than most elementary schools. However, if you are considering LAAS for middle or high school, think carefully. LAAS doesn't have the financial support to hire qualified teachers for middle/high school. Students graduate from LAAS without calculus and physics. They are not exposed to chemistry/physics labs. The English and literature courses at LAAS are excellent, but if your child desires to be challenged in math and science, perhaps you should consider a school that will offer extensive math/science opportunities (such as Eisenhower). Nonetheless, the small environment at LAAS was great for my kids. Students grow close to each other and it's easy to fit in. The teachers are caring, but the school's financial situation doesn't support the middle/high schools' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

This school has been fantastic form me for the nine years I've been there. It has pushed me to be the best I can be and it is still improving who I am as a person. So many opportunities are presented in this school such as MathCounts, FutureCities, Solo and Ennsemble contests, Knowledge Master Open Tests, Tournament of Champions, and many more. This school is the best in Lawton and the people that I have seen graduate have gone on to do amazing things. If you are planning to move to Lawton or to another area near Lawton dont hesitate to put your child in this school because they will have an amazing future after going through it. I know this because my chances of succeeding in life have been multiplied by 100 and I now have an even greater drive to suceed and learn. Thank you so much LAAS you have helped me so many times throughout the years. Also thanks to the amazing faculty who have helped me become a well rounded successful person and who will help me later on in life too.


Posted January 16, 2013

We are military, and have decided to retire in this area because of this school. Yes, it is THAT good! The teachers my children have this year are the absolute best! My daughter (4th grade) is being challenged in ways that I thank God for every day. For the first time in her life she is not bored in school, or looked at as a freak. My son's (2nd grade) teacher is just the teacher he needs to excel. She is able to get him to pay attention, and learn, a feat I really admire her for. Both kids come home excited about learning, which I absolutely love. This school has instilled in my children a passion for learning musical instruments. It is wonderful to see them excited about playing music. LAAS also offers fantastic extracurricular activities after school including chess club, archery, and robotics (to name a few) for the elementary school. I absolutely love this school and highly recommend it! Best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Best school in Lawton, OK. The Adminstration and Faculty members are awesome. Best parents or should I say family ever. The curriculum that is used is the best I've seen in a long time. 2011-2012 test scores were off the charts. Would not have my kids go anywhere else. Love it......love it.....love it. To the entire staff, thank you. Don't know what we would do without you all. Such a hard working and dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

LAAS is definitely Lawton's hidden gem. We absolutely love this school. My daughter entered second grade this year, and she has blossomed and excelled. She's so happy to go to school everyday, and enjoys doing her projects and homework. The teacher pays individual attention to each child, and gives them extra work according to each child's ability. This is absolutely the best school, we're so lucky, and thank you Mrs Johnson for your dedication to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

I have been really impressed with the school. My daughter has made excellent progress. The school creates a warm, academically enriched environment. I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

I would like to take this moment in time to say THANK YOU to MRS. and MR. Johnson for starting this school and believing in every child that has walked the hallways at LAAS! This is not only a wonderful school, it is also a healthy enviornment for the kids, teachers and parents! Our son has been in LAAS since kindergarten and is now in the fourth grade! He loves school and is very happy. Thank you to all the teachers who stay late and/or come in early! Thank you for all the extras that this school provides! We plan to stay here in Lawton because of this school! Thank you to all the families at LAAS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

We are so fortunate to have found LAAS. The classes are small, so my daughter gets individual attention when she needs it. The teachers push the children to excel in their academics, and my pre-teen child had no problem fitting in the very first year she arrived. Traditional learning is emphasized there, which we like because IT WORKS! My child made great leaps in her academic progress, and we owe it to Lawton Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Lawton Academy is definitely the best educational opportunity in the city! We moved to Lawton last year and after only 1 month in the public high school here we knew that there was no chance of an education in this system, and my daughter was MISERABLE! Then we found Lawton Academy. It was such a wonderful experience! They encourage students to be individuals and encourage free thought and expression. My daughter's grades here were the best they have ever been! I simply can't thank all of the teachers and staff enough! You are all AWSOME and we will miss you so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

If you're reading this, Mrs. Johnson, I want to thank you ( times infinity) for starting Lawton Academy. I've been at Lawton Academy since first grade; I'm going into seventh and I'm still there. It's a small school so you know just about everyone there. Since it's a small school, there's not many kids in your class, which is good because that means the teachers can get to know the different personalities of all the different students and help them in the ways they need help. The teachers also push you to do your best with your school work because if they don't, you'll eventually get used to doing everything the easy way and end up doing everything in life the easy way. To suceed, you need a good education and Lawton Academy of Arts and Sciences (LAAS for short) can give it to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

My child is enrolled at Lawton Academy of Arts and Sciences. His reading and math skills are far above average. By the end of his kindergarden year, he knew his multiplication tables thru seven. The best thing I like about this school is the patriotism and Christian values of the principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school is the best school you can get in the city of Lawton. The teachers always will help you to succeed. We're all a big family. We all work together and as other students said they push you, so you can have a great future in life. This school makes you think 'I love to go to school and learn'. If you're a person who wants your child to succeed then this school is your calling. No one is ever left out, because as I said we're a big family. We all do care about each other. Isn't that what school is all about? I hope that after seeing this review you as a parent will think about your child's future and do what's best for them. I hope one day this school will be known around the country as the greatest. Hope to see you at Lawton Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2007

This is the best school I've ever been to! The teachers push so you may excel, they help you if you're having trouble, and they're very very kind.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 3% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Cameron University
Oklahoma State University
University of Central Oklahoma
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • MathCounts Gold Level (2011)
  • 1st Place State Knowledge Master Open (2011)
  • Finalist National eCybermission Contest (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (580) 353-0923

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Archery
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Forensics club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
60
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
75

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cameron University
Oklahoma State University
University of Central Oklahoma
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 90%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 3%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1911 NW 72
Lawton, OK 73505
Website: Click here
Phone: (580) 536-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT