Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Philip Neri School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Midwest City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $67,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

SPN-this school does not represent what it should, very little religious conviction. They feel entitled to the cost instead of earning it. Any slight problem with a student and it's like a permanent condemnation and will never admit to doing anything wrong, the problem is always placed on the family or student. Also had uncertified teachers for 1/2 year. The staff is quick to judge and punish without staff witness and on hearsay. The online grade site was a disaster. There are some good teachers but a few are in the wrong trade, should not be in education. This school does not represent what a Catholic school should, glad to be gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

This is a sad example of a catholic school lacking organization. The teachers do not know how to teach or discipline their students. They focus on issues of no importance and neglect to address the actual problems of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

All four of my children were educated at SPN. One year when we moved further out I put my two oldest children in the Choctaw schools to save time and money. Not worth the time or money. Oklahoma Public schools were about a year behind SPN. My daughter had already learned in 3rd grade what they were teaching in 4th grade in Choctaw. The Computer lab is top notch and my 10 year-old can produce a power point presentation that would compete with most adults. All my children have a definite sense of right and wrong and positive work ethic. If you fail or succeed it is all on yourself. I am happy with this school and it's Christian teachings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

Never having been in a Catholic school I must Amit I excepted a cold environment . Yes I know to much tv I'm sure! I found a disciplined, loving school with a close family like connection. I was there assisting in school photos, this being a stressful and caodic time for students and teachers I thought it was a great testament to the school. I would also like I add the students were all polite and I had no problems getting them to cooperate.


Posted May 28, 2012

This was our 2nd year at SPN and I don't think we will be returning. I am very dissappointed at the lack of discipline the children receive and I have found out through other parents that if you complain they will take it out on the child. I don't think this school be open many more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

My children have been attending SPN for 4 years now. We love it. Their preschool program (K3 & K4) is the best! They learn so much in that time and build on that foundation during the rest of their school years. My husband and I make a lot of sacrifices for our children to receive a good education and we could not have found a better school for this. I am very happy that I am such a big part of their education. I love being able to volunteer, talk to teachers/principal as needed and be involved in the decisions made for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I was really dissappointed in SPN. My son is in K4 and his teacher complains to us on a daily basis on how hard her job is, asking us things like "is it Friday yet". Anytime he mIssbehaves in the slightest, the school is calling us and asking if we can come up and talk to him. I feel he would listen to them more if they disciplined him instead of immediately having us talk to him. The admin. told us average class size would be about 15.. There are 26 in his class and on more than one occcasion we have walked in on the teacher just yelling at the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

St. Philip Neri provides a wonderful, Christian environment for my children to learn and have fun in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

St Philip Neri teaches each child individually, knowing not all children learn the same way. The teachers and staff at this school are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I love St Philip Neri School because not only do the children get the best education ever, everyone at the school is loving and caring always looking out for the best interests of your child. I never worry at all while I am working because I know he is safe and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Because my grandsons attend St Philip Neri and I'm impressed with their knowledge and also their behavior.


Posted October 1, 2010

This is a wonderful faith filled school. The faculty cares about each student. Parents are involved, active and supportive. Discipline is good. Students learn more than the 3 R's.


Posted September 30, 2010

I like the smaller class sizes giving my child more one-on-one time with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

This is an exceptional school. The students, teachers, and parents work in community to give our kids the best possible Catholic education
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2010

I think prayer is important to us all. I'm glad morning prayer before class is very important. Another reason is the uniform policy. The policy minimizes the stress many public school students face in trying to be the 'best dressed' Everyone is equal in that respect. Also, the small class size means teachers are able to be more helpful to those students who may be having difficulties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Teachers and curriculum are great. My children can pray at school and talk about Jesus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Both my daughters graduated from St. Philip's and got an excellent education there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

I support Catholic education. Those teachers are dedicated and hard working and put a lot of heart into their teaching. They not only get a good educational foundation, but a foundation in the Faith. They have the best principal and a wonderful staff. God bless Catholic schools and God bless St. Philip Neri Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I love St. Philip Neri School because it has such a great faculty that strive to teach the students to achieve ten times their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Because it is staffed by caring, concerned teachers who work toward helping students raise self-esteem, teach respsibility, relate-afectively, and solve problems. They also are learning to set reasonable and attainable goals in life
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Hispanic 9% 13%
Black 5% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Oklahoma City
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1121 Felix Place
Midwest City, OK 73110
Phone: (405) 737-4496

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Jarman Middle School
Midwest City, OK


Traub Elementary School
Midwest City, OK


Steed Elementary School
Midwest City, OK


Monroney Middle School
Midwest City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT