Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 591 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

My oldest completed all years at Cleveland and I have two more going through now. I have nothing but positive things to say for this incredible school. First of all the principal and staff are outstanding... but also consider that you're getting more diversity here than at most Westside schools. You're going to get a good socioeconomic mix, huge parental involvement and good kids. Bullying isn't tolerated. Kids aren't spoiled rotten. The principal plans the most amazing and memorable experiences for the 5th graders. My children love their school and, quite seriously, I cried when my son graduated. The only thing you should consider is the feeding pattern. Cleveland feeds into Whittier/ Norman North and we transferred to Alcott/ Norman High, liking those choices more for our family. I have been so impressed with Alcott I will make that transfer for our other two also, but they're all good schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

I like the enthusiasm and care that the Principal and Staff bring each day. I appreciate the high standards, high level of parent involvement, and strong PTA commitment. Our family has great memories of my daughter's years at Cleveland, and I believe the staff gave her a great educational foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

We have been lucky enough to have all four of our children at this school and I will say that there is no other school that I would want them to be at. This is a school where the Principal teachers and staff truly care about the children. I appreciate the high standards, high level of parent involvement, and strong PTA commitment as well. Our family has great memories from Cleveland that will continue to be in our hearts. Thank you for setting the standard of how early education should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

I am a past parent, we had such a good experience at Cleveland Elementary. My three children attended from 2004-2010. Best elementary we attended for all our elementary years (out of 3). Thank you Mr. Bell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Cleveland is AWESOME!!!! The teachers are so wonderful and enthusiastic! Mr. Bell is a fabulous principal! Together, they make school FUN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

I love Cleveland!! The teacher's my children have had are exceptional!! At cleveland the addministration is determined to be the best not only in the classroom but also on the field. Here we have the best of all worlds! Number one in the state in Test scores and always contending for campionships in all sports!! Cleveland school can't be beat!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

Both of my kids attend Cleveland and we do feel fortunate to live in such a great district. I wouldn't say that academic standards are rigorous though. We have had mixed results with the abitlity and dedication of teachers there but overall it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I can not be more pleased with the overall academic rigor of the school. I have 2 children who both excell in their studies, but I am pleased to say they must work for their good grades. I have several friends who transfer their Children to Cleveland from other local schools. I believe Cleveland has the most request of parents to transfer their children into the school compared to other schools in Norman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

Cleveland is a very close-knit, supportive school with high academics and a caring, well-trained faculty and staff. We feel fortunate to live in this district.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2005

In general, I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have had many conversations with the principal, and she has always been approachable and understanding. While we may have had our differences in opinion, her concern truly seems to be the health and well-being of the students in her charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 59%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Native American 5% 16%
Black 3% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 133%N/A61%
Special education 214%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 North Sherry Avenue
Norman, OK 73069
Phone: (405) 366-5875

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT