Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Whittier Middle School 5

Posted December 27, 2011
- a community member
whittier is a FANTASTIC school! that i would definently recommend to anyone! the students and teachers are very nice, and they rarely have any problems with drugs and bullying problems!

Whittier Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
this is a great school with great kids and excellent teachers

Whittier Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Whittier Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Whittier Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a student
Whittier is a wonderful school and provides alot of experiences

Whittier Middle School 4

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
My son attends whittier middle school. He loves it and the staff is very nice.

Whittier Middle School 2

Posted January 19, 2005
- a parent
My child has attended Whittier for 3 years. We were lucky and had some really awesome teachers. The administrative staff on the other hand is a different story - the office staff is rude and mean to the kids and they are often short with parents or other visitors. Then there's the school - OPEN classrooms for 7th and 8th graders! Who can learn in that environment with so much noise and distraction?! With Norman having the financial influence that they have, there is no reason for over-crowding and open classrooms.

Whittier Middle School 1

Posted January 10, 2005
- a parent
This school needs to down size. There are too many students to keep up with. My son comes home everyday telling me about a fight he has seen or been apart of. This is not a middle school I would recommend.

Whittier Middle School 2

Posted July 07, 2004
- a parent
The first thing I noticed about Whittier is that it's not clean. Carpet was taped down with duck-tape and there was gum stuck on the walls. It's dark on the inside of the school, and the heat always seems to be on. My son did not thrive when he attended Whittier. He never had any homework and did a lot of in-class projects. My son made straight A's and never opened a book. The teachers and staff were very nice. If my son missed an assignment or made a bad grade he was allowed to keep working on the paper or project until he made a good grade. I feel that Whitter is to casual in their approach to academics. There needs to be a better dress code and students need to be held to a higher standard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whittier Middle School
2000 West Brooks Street, Norman, OK  73069
(405) 366-5956
Last modified Whittier Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Whittier Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top