Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Britton Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

The media specialist cares nothing for the students. She needs to be replaced very soon.


Posted September 13, 2013

I saw your statement for tthis school. Actually, I have a plan to transfer my daughter into this school. If you don't mind, let me know the class or the grade for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

HORRIBLE SCHOOL, STAFF AND PRINCIPAL ARE "BURNT OUT". THEY WILL IGNORE A PROBLEM UNTIL IT GETS OUT OF CONTROL. THEN THEY WILL SEND OUT A LETTER ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY WILL NOT TAKE ANY ACTION. THE MOST UNORGANIZED, UNCARING PACK OF ADULTS IVE EVER WITNESSED. I REMOVED MY DAUGHTER FROM THIS SCHOOL AFTER SHE WAS BEING HIT, KICKED, PUSHED DAILY BY TWO BOYS WHO WERE WAY BIGGER THAN HER. I TALKED TO THE PRINCIPAL AND TEACHER CONSTANTLY WITH NO HELP FROM EITHER. THIS SCHOOL NEEDS NEW PRINCIPAL AND STAFF!! NO STARS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

This school needs a fresh start. Starting from high up. To many problems. No dicipline enforced. Teachers quiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I think this school is a good school. The teachers seem to care about the kids and the students seem to enjoy being at school. The teachers seem to have high expectations of the students. The school feels welcoming and you always see students work up in the halls. The principal Mrs. Zackary seems to treat the children like they are her own. I have heard her tell some of the kids outside getting ready to go home that she wants them to learn how to read so they can lead. Then she talks about limos, McDonald's and bringing her jello when she is old. I haven't lived in Oklahoma City that long but I feel apart of the City and I think it is part because of the welcoming atmosphere here. if all the schools are like this school thats great This school is a school that should go to 8th grade. We need more like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

My child, went back after Christmas break this past school year to a class with a substitute teacher, then another sub (to be fair, who was a former principal, who finally brought some sort of order to the class) It took it several weeks to get a new permanent teacher in place. As a new family in the area, there was no 'orientation' at this school. Registration took place a week before school started for all students, not just the new ones, causing total chaos. We didn't know the name of the teacher, pick up, drop off procedure, nothing until the first day. Is it too much to ask to get a lunch menu? Even if the school doesn't have the resources to send printed ones home with a child, would it be too hard to update the menu on the website?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I'm a very proud parent of Britton Elementary. My daughter and her friends are so excited about learning at school. Mrs. Zackery and her staff are a great asset to what education is all about....'Our Children, Our Future'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

My children have enjoyed Britton Elementary School. I wish the school went to 8th grade. How many schools have Ballroom dancing, drumming, keyboarding and a great visual arts program? The kids are in uniform and the teachers seem positive and upbeat. The Principal is a positive force at the school. All five of my children have attended this school and we never had a substitute teacher problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I love Britton my children have been attending Britton since they started as well as my nieces! they have been great especially Mrs Zachary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

My son attended Britton for K and 1st grade...His teacher the 1st year was GREAT. She was very helpful in many ways. The school has a computer program so that the kids get time on a computer about everyday and my son loves that. I was not happy with my sons 2nd year at Britton...His teacher was out on leave and his class went through about 5-6 teachers during the year and at the end of the year when his teacher came back we found out that they weren't in the workbooks they were suppose to be. The children in this school are wild and I do not feel that the teacher have much control over them and that is why I am attempting to transfer my son. Parent involvement is good...anytime I wanted to participate it was there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 9%
Hispanic 39% 14%
White 13% 59%
Native American 2% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 198%N/A61%
Special education 26%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 NW 95th
Oklahoma City, OK 73114
Phone: (405) 587-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Casady School
Oklahoma City, OK


Crescent Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Johnson Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT