Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garfield Elementary School

Public | 3-5 | 466 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

The principle and teachers are great. They keep the lines of communication open and encourage input from families. However, the school counselor is extremely out of touch with reality. She doesn't have a clue about what is going on, nor does she communicate well with the families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

its seems like the new principal is trying hard but i feel this school has a huge bulling problem,it could stem from central ele. they never wanted to hear from parents of kids getting bullied.i hope garfield is differnet. there is a lack of info from school to parent.no sure if it was the teacher or the office not informing parents about school going ons.would like to see a different music teacher,kids just dont seem to enjoy or be into what she is doing.im sure she means well but the kids look like clowns at school programs, no one can understand what in the world we just heard.office staff r very helpful and careing about my concerns.need to work harder on bullys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My daughter went to Garfield last year she moved to the middle school this year. I loved Garfield. I thought Mr. Clark was the best with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I personally believe that Garfield is one of the best elementary schools. Considering the area it is in and from what I have seen, the lack of parent involvement, I believe Garfield does the best with what they have. I know of several teachers who stay after school on their own time to help a student understand something they are struggling with. Every school has its fault if you look hard enough.


Posted October 4, 2006

I am a new parent to Garfield but I must say I've already been rubbed the wrong way. I do believe they have a lot of offer but I'm thinking they have a lot that could be improved also. My biggest concern with them is I believe their safey is weak. I do like though that they make sure and offer music/computers/P.E. in rotating 3 days shifts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

Communication at this school between parents and teachers and principal are kept to the minimal. Parent volunteering is not encouraged. This school gives you as a parent the feeling that you want the next three years to hurry up and pass as quickly as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 22% 18%
Black 5% 10%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 North Roosevelt
Sand Springs, OK 74063
Phone: (918) 246-1462

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pratt Elementary School
Sand Springs, OK


Moriah Christian Academy
Sand Springs, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT