Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 384 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2009

It is a driven school which promotes literacy first. Top down leadership driving a 25 book this year program to get students excited about reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love Rogers Middle School because the staff is great and they care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The teachers are great and they care about the students futures. I attended Rogers myself it's a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

They have a great parent resource room, band,and math program. They have a great staff and they have a program that prepares the students for college. They also have alot of family resources such as mentoring for young boys and counseling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I think Rogers Middle School is the best place to work, our staff is loyal, generous and spiritual. Our kids are fortunate to be here and we are fortunate to have them. I look forward to coming to work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

The school is fastly becoming a outstanding middle school and they are simple great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love my school and the students who give me a reason to come to work every day. We have so many gifts, talents, and ethnicities represented at Rogers, and it is a challenging, fun, and sometimes entertaining place to work! The teachers and staff at Rogers are all top-notch and love children! We firmly believe in making a difference one child at a time. While Rogers is a great school, it is also a needy school with 100% of our students eligible for free and reduced lunches. You couldn't pick a better school to support and encourage in your efforts to reward worthy schools. Please help us make a difference in the lives of our students by giving us the honor of being one of your winners. Sincerely, Ms. Greenhoward, 6th Grade Language Arts Teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Rogers has school pride, the children participate in all extra curricular activities. They keep their school clean and are polite.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

Rogers is a community school that is well support by the neighborhood.


Posted October 13, 2009

I have work with the students at Rogers for 14 years. The staff is caring and like a real family. Its a great place to work. The job is challenging at times but I love my students and it is worth the time and effort. Go Mustangs!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
65%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

69 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 10%
White 13% 54%
Hispanic 5% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 18%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 North Spencer Rd
Spencer, OK 73084
Phone: (405) 771-3205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Crutcho Public School
Oklahoma City, OK




Monroney Middle School
Midwest City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT