Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chouteau Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 282 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

My child just finished her Pre-K in June. She absolutely loves her school. Great teachers. Keep parents updated on what the kids' are learning at school each week. Principal and his assistant, along with all the other faculty members are very helpful. I know it's a great school when my child can't wait to go back in August.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2011

Chouteau is a good school, but since the district changes, they have had an influx of students who have been into bullying. All three of my kids have had trouble with kids bullying them, including stealing, gross language, swearing, name-calling, threats, etc. I love Chouteau, but I am looking now for a school with kids who don't bully like this. I will say, Chouteau is trying to address these issues. Hopefully, they find a resolution soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

I absolutely LOVE this school!! However the PTA lacks very much!!!! When ordering something from them, you do not always recieve what you order, therefore leaving you out of pocket for what you paid for and did not recieve! PTA members need to step up and learn organiztion! If you can not function as an officer for PTA you should not be one! Very upset that they did NOT even try to make it right or replace it!!! I recommend this school to everyone....just not the PTA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

The best kept secret in Tulsa Public Schools... Chouteau Fine Arts Academy. With an API score of 1299, Chouteau Fine Arts Academy has the highest No Child Left Behind score among all Title I elementary schools in the district and is in the top 10% of all TPS elementary schools, along with the most selective magnet programs. We have five National Board Certified Teachers, two educators with Doctorate Degrees, eight teachers and two paraprofessionals with Master s Degrees, a full-time social worker, and a full-time counselor. We teach to the whole child and have an arts integrated curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2010

I will really miss this school when my kids move on to middle school. I don't think my son would be going to Carver next year if it weren't for Chouteau. Love everyone there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Great quality leadership. Friendly knowledgeable teachers. Respectful students. Non-threatening environment. Learning taking place. Even great After School Best kept secret in Tulsa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I transferred my son to Chouteau in the first week of school. I am extremely impressed with Dr. Michael Burke, the principal. He is very involved with his school and seems to know each student on a personal level. The office staff and nurse attendant are professional and caring and since my son has a few health issues, this is very important to me. Dr. Smith, my son's teacher, is simply fantastic! The school employs strict rules, which I believe children need to thrive, but is very caring in the way that it maintains the rules. I feel secure that he is safe in the school when I drop him off each day, which is extremely important to me since my son is my life! My son's education and well-being are my first priorities, and Chouteau exceeds my expectations! Thank you Dr. Burke, Dr. Smith, and the rest of the fine staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Chouteau is, in my opinion, the best elementary school in Tulsa. I have visited many schools around town, and none of them have the cheery,clean and bright atmosphere that Chouteau does. The teachers are top notch and along with the extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful support staff I feel like my children are getting a private school level education for free! To bad Chouteau doesn't have a middle and high school too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

We transfered our son here 3 years ago,after watching test scores and reviewing the staff for a year.It's a wonderful public school with the feel of a small community.Our son does very well,as does more than the majority of his 4th grade class.Hats off to this great bunch of profesionals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

This school is a real gem. High quality education! My older kids went here about 10 years ago, and my pre-k and Kindergarten kids go now. I've had plenty of experience with other schools...bad experiences...and this one was especially important for my older son who needed the attentive teachers, and non-chaotic setting. The teachers expected high-quality work...and my son who struggled in other schools excelled and accomplished more. Fantastic school! Motivates kids to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

One of the best schools I have ever been around. My children have attended Chouteau Elementary from pre-k through 5th grade, and they both love it, the pricipal, the teachers, the aids, the councoler, the luch room staff, and even the janitors.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

29 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 54%
Black 23% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 11% 18%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 North 39th West Ave
Tulsa, OK 74127
Phone: (918) 833-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT