Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daniel Webster High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2010

As a DWHS alum I am very excited to see my oldest child starting his freshman year at Webster. The new programs they have are amazing and I can honestly say my son is actually excited about starting school this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

Webster is now a magnet school. They have the best technology I've seen in any high school in Tulsa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Webster is a great school and gives a great eduacation and reflection towards the students. Im a proud graduate of 2009.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

As a former student (graduate of 2007) I enjoyed the experience I gained from attending Webster High School. Many people that perpetuate the negative stereotype have never even set foot on campus. As far as Tulsa Public Schools go, Webster in certainly the worst. It is located in a low-income area but a school should not be rated by the socio-economic level of its students. Activities are certainly not non-existent considering that I took part in Band, Academic Team, and Drama. The campus is gorgeous and well-maintained. As a college freshman, I feel that I was completely prepared to pursue a degree thanks to the teachers and faculty at Daniel Webster High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2006

Best kept secret, best worst secret... Not friendly, teachers are biased...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

Webster High is one Tulsa's best kept secrets of schools. As a parent of a recent grad. I found the students can be as invovled as much as they wish to be in extra activites. I have been involved with the West side schools since the start of her kindergarten & find that parnets are very welcome in Webster or any school (TPS) on this side of river. Did you know taht stucents who pursue some courses at Webster can enter the college level with many hours of classes acheived on campus at Webster. Where else is this possible in high school. We are also proud to say we have 2 young ladies to recieve the Gates Scholarship this year --- more that any other school in area can say. Come over the river & check us out--- We would love to have you visit. Best is in the West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

my daughter goes to Webster and loves it! She hasn't had any problems with the teachers, students, or faculty. They all seem to be very helpful. The school gets a bad rep. from one or two people, but what people don't look at is there are several outstanding students there! People need to realize that! The new principal is outstanding and has made Webster a much better place. He trult strives to make WHS the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

This is a small school in a larger metro area and it has been forgotten and bad students from other schools have been shoved in. The school is old with alot of add ons. Activities are almost non-existent. The teachers are o.k., but beat down by the odds against them. I guess in the past it was a pretty good school, but I think it has outlived it's purpose. The people who live nearby are in need of social services.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2005

As a former student (1985 graduate), and as a parent of a Webster student, I can honestly say that Daniel Webster is one of the better high schools in Tulsa. Although we are in a low income district and standardized test scores are not the best, Webster is a very 'community oriented' school. The children who want to learn can, and do so very well. Many scholarships are awared to Webster graduates for academics, etc. The teachers know their students, the parents and teachers know each other and communicate effectively. With a graduating class of between 500 and 600, Webster can give a personal education experience for those who truly want to learn.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 23, 2005

webster high school is not as bad as its reputation. yes, it is a lower income school, and it does have relatively low test scores. one must ,however, consider that these are not the only factors that make a school successful. there is a community feeling at webster that is unheard of in the larger schools. the teachers know their students and truly care about their success. webster is not just a name and a number school, it is a community were every one is given the opportunity to succeed. it is not the school's fault that some of the students chose not to pursue these opportunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2004

My daughter has went to webster for 2 years and it is a big joke. Education isnt a priority and the sports program is horrible. A few teachers are good most are trying to make another tear to retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 59%
Black 35% 9%
Native American 15% 16%
Hispanic 12% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/A61%
Special education 220%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1919 West 40
Tulsa, OK 74107
Phone: (918) 746-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT