Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jenks Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

After many years at great schools in Jenks, we were shocked at the mediocrity of the teaching staff and the "boys will be boys" culture lead by the attitude of the leadership who allowed hitting, kicking, body slamming and name calling - all of which occurred right under the nose of a PE teacher. Tutor your kids so they may actually continue to learn at this school and do NOT allow them to take PE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

JMS is a wonderful school. The site principal and all assistant principals enjoy being there and have a good rapport with students while maintaining firmness to doing what's right and personal responsibility. Also, the availability of electives is great- there's lots to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

The amount of bullying ruins any amount of great things that come from their exceptionally advanced curriculum. Bullying is out of control in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

He's a good leader and a former marine corp officer! He was an awesome principle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

Mr.Miller is the best priciple ever, no doubt, he's amazing and im very happy i got a chance to go to this school !
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

Appreciate Mr. Miller every chance you get. A leader like this is hard to find.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

i love jenks, the foods good and the teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

Great schools for great kids!! Great kids have to sometimes sacrifice their learning time due to lack of discipline of the trouble making kids at the Middle School level./
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2005

Hello my name is matt and if youre wandering which I bet you are, this school is very nice. From a kids point of view I mean good food some nice teachers. Im not saying that all of them will be nice because they wont but some of them.They have many extra curricular programm. They have four types of discipline detention inhouse saturday and suspension. The teachers there know what theyre doing and well your kid may or may not like it there. From my standpoint its a very nice school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2005

academic programs are good. acitivities are awesome!!! so many to choose from. I dont think to many parents arent involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 11, 2004

Great teachers....the best. My daughter has done well and is graduating this year. AP student all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have had three children attend Jenks Schools. they have all needed special services, ranging from gifted to IEP programs. The teachers are very professional and on top of their game. The administration is holding the line with discipline. My children have benefitted from the many extra curricular activities that a large public school has to offer. We feel very fortunate to have experienced Jenks Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

We are very happy with Jenks Middle School. We are lucky that we could, with some sacrifice, send our child to a private school. However he loves the school and we are pleased with the education he is getting. However, it takes some involvement by the parents - don't past the buck and expect the teachers to raise and educate your children by themselves. Get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

654 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

654 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
90%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

655 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

594 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

595 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

586 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

587 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

599 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 10% 17%
Black 10% 10%
Hispanic 9% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3019 East 101st St
Tulsa, OK 74137
Phone: (918) 299-4415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holland Hall
Tulsa, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT