Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mustang Trails Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Our granddaughter attends 1st grade at this school. My husband and I had the pleasure of joining our granddaughter last November for the school's Thanksgiving Feast. It was a fun learning experience. Our granddaughter loves her teachers and friends.


Posted June 20, 2012

I have been in Yukon Schools and Mustang Schools. The staff and principals at Trails go above and beyond the call of duty to give children the best educational experience. I am and always have been impressed with this school. Great job, Trails staff! Keep up all your hard work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

Trails has a wonderful environment for children. From the curriculm to the staff this school exceeds in every way. I would reccommend this school. The principal is very involved and has set up additional character building activities on top of the educational guides
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

I very disappointed this is not a good school for a child who has a disability, When meeting the teacher she did not even seem interested in knowing about my childs disability nor did she take time to ask questions. The quality of teachers have gone down hill over the years is my opinion. The ratings this school gets in my opinion is overated when you have a child with a disability. I feelno support as a parent & no support or care has been shown to my child. I to think I moved to this area hoping to have a school that cares about the needs of a child with a disabilty to suceed. I would love to get feed back on parents in this school on similar issues, so we can unite as a team to have our concerns addressed & hopefully get our children education they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Moved here last year and the kids love the school and teachers. They are challenged beyond putnam cty where they were attending but are not pushed too hard. LOVE THE SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

Mustang Trails has proven to be an amazing group of caring and guiding teachers. I can't thank them enough for the things that they helped my son achieve in his striving to stay focused to accomplish things. He's going on to North this year but he has a 2 year old brother watch out!!! :o) thanks so much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

I had 3 children at Mustang Trails and my son still attends there as he resides now with his father. It took awhile for me to get used to the staff but after awhile we grew to love that school and the teachers and staff. Shelbie & Aubrie are dying to go back!! We think it is the best school in Canadian County! I can never thank them enough for all that they have done and continue to do for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I think this is a good school, but the leadership is lacking (principal). I think that Kids In Action is a joke or at least during the time my child was there. The only time they acknowledged your child was when they were going home... Go Figure... Other than that, I feel the office ladies and teachers truly care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

First of all it is more like 20-25 students per teacher. It is a great school overall unless your child has a learning disability. They have a tendency to flag them, but do not follow up with making sure they are getting the support and extra attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

115 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 54%
Hispanic 11% 13%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Black 4% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12025 SW 15
Yukon, OK 73099
Phone: (405) 324-0016

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT