Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pilgrim Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

HIgh test scores, small class size and individual attention

 
 

Living in Beaverton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $169,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

A family atmosphere. High academic standards! Great test scores! Loving teachers who care about their students' academics, spiritual welfare, and personal lives. Parent volunteers who give countless hours to help make our school shine! Awesome lunch program that features healthy, made- from-scratch, fresh ingredients. A lot to offer for a very reasonable tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

My son has been attending Pilgrim Lutheran since Kindergarten, and is now in 7th grade. The teachers have all been wonderful, nuturing, caring, and still holding the students to high standards. There is a closeness within the school, even though we don't attend the church. The only change I'd make is that the grades/classes are small, but the flip side is that students receive a lot of individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I am writing this review as a former parent, our children no longer attend Pilgrim for a variety of reasons foremost being that we moved quite a bit away. We had 2 elementary age children, one preschooler and had been a part of the Pilgrim family for almost 8 years. That being said, no school is perfect but Pilgrim is definitely above average. I never doubted the quality of teaching staff (in all transparency we only went up through grade 4) or quality of education our children received. The educational needs of our kids were always met and often exceeded, we had a grade appropriate student and an accelerated student, both came out of this facility with strong academics. The part however, that you can't measure on any standardized test is the sense of family, caring, and community that exist here, your child is not a number or just another student. Every staff member has a vested interest in each and every kid that is palpable throughout all that they do. Pilgrim Lutheran School was no longer the right fit for our family but it might be for yours and is worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Our children have thrived at Pilgrim, and we have never looked back. Classroom size is great, activities and programs for the kids are fantastic, and the feeling of family is second to none. We are often asked where our kids go to school when out and about. When we tell them "Pilgrim Lutheran" we almost always hear what a great school it is, or that they are considering visiting to move their kids over from public. I agree with the last commenter. You have to come and see the school, visit the classrooms, and see Pilgrim in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Pilgrim Lutheran School has been great for all 3 of my kids. My youngest started in Pre-4 and went all the way through the 8th grade. They were fully equipped for success in high school and beyond, not only academically but socially, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Pilgrim school is a small, family-focused school that cares deeply about their students and it shows. We love our kindergarten teacher Mrs Hafer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Great teachers, small class sizes,learn and grow in your faith each day! Academically rigorous. Exciting opportunities for all ages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I do not know where the previous reviewer is coming from. As a parent of students in this school I could not be more pleased. Every single teacher is more then qualified. As far as the technology push, I could not be more pleased, these days you have to be tech savvy and the opportunities pilgrim is providing all students with in this regard will be very beneficial. Many private schools refer out or turn away kids with special needs, pilgrim is more then accepting of all students and will do anything they can to provide students with any sort of specialized care or instruction. It is really unfortunate to see someone give such an inaccurate review of a growing school. There is a new principal in his 2nd year now and he has an amazing confidence in and inspiring dream for this school. Parents of students that have graduated from Pilgrim find that their kids are better prepared come high school then many others and HS teachers in the area have talked about how impressed they are with students coming from Pilgrim. As with any place, product, etc you can't base an opinion off of one "bad" review. You have to check it out for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

We have 3 kids attending this school and this will be their last year (we will most likely pull them mid year) The school has steadily declined in the past 7 years, almost as if they are still striving to figure out their identity. There has been a recent over zealous push for technology integration that seemed to come out of nowhere. Staffing consistency always seems to be a problem (numerous times there were grade levels without a teacher right up until August) along with teacher and student retention. Enrollment is declining at an alarming rate and we do not believe it is socially healthy to have our children in a class size less than 10. The quality of the teachers is questionable, the 3rd grade teacher is phenomenal while most others seem average at best. We are in the process of touring our local public school and are blown away by the resources available (Pilgrim has no exceptions for Talented and Gifted students nor for students that may need some extra academic help) along with clubs, sports, and extracurricular special interest groups. Pilgrim is a sinking ship and we are getting out, I would be surprised if they still exist as a school in 5-8 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Both of my children attended Pilgrim (P3 thur 8th) and when they got to public high school they were better prepared then the other students. Both of my children's high school teachers have comments on the great education the kids received before high school. Love the teachers and staff. Very friendly and always helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Pilgrim is a wonderful school because of the teachers, small classes and family atmosphere. Check us out - you'll be glad you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

We have three kids in the school and they have excelled both academically as well as individuals. If you are looking for strong academics with a small class size this is the place. With the turmoil in the public schools I can't think of a better investment in your child than sending them to Pilgrim. Great teachers and great families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

I have been a Pilgrim Parent for 3 years now, and I think the teaching, academics and the teaching of Christian principles is top notch. The only thing that is keeping this rating at a 4 instead of a 5 is the leadership of the principal. It is the school's only real weakness, in my opinion. I would like to see more REAL direction, decisions, and guidance from the principal, and right now I would say that's not happening. That said - in spite of the lack of leadership from the principal, the school is a gem. My child is not only taught, but LOVED there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

My kids have graduated from Pilgrim and have gone on to excel in high school. The Pilgrim staff has prepared my kids not only with great academics but also with a great moral foundation. Pilgrim offers a great education in a loving Christian enviornment. My kids still come back to visit and seeing all the alumni at this year's graduation shows how much this school means to the kids.


Posted May 31, 2010

I am a parent of a preschooler and have enjoyed watching my student grow into a more sociable and enriched little person! Her teacher, Mrs. Ewing, is very involved with the class and makes sure each and every student is performing to the best of their abilities. Chapel every week is important for the children as it is geared towards them and helps them relate. My students manners have improved and her skill levels are such that is reading up to five letter words and is more than prepared for kindergarten. All the teachers are there for the students - you can tell by their dedication and love. The school itself is inviting and offers extra activities that many public school don't or are in the process of cutting. I encourage any parent considering Pilgrim to take a tour! I love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I have been a parent here @ Pilgrim for 3 years and LOVE it here. I can honestly say all of the teachers are completely invested in the lives of these children. Christ is taught and intermingled in every subject the kids learn. Chapel is great for them and run on "their" level rather than a church service. I know some people feel there is a cliquish attitude here, but honestly, every experience is what you make it. I choose to involve myself to the best of my abilities and try to have positive actions with all the other parents. My child has made great friends and has learned so much from his experiences here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

My kids have excelled at Pilgim. Great academics which is supported by their test scores compared to other schools nation wide. Outstanding, experienced teachers and a great facility. Great loving environment but kids are held accountable for their actions which we appreciate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

Our children have had an excellent education and an overall positive experience at Pilgrim. The teachers have nurtured our kids' love for learning and have taught them good organization skills as well accountabilty for homework and behavior. Our children have been able to participate in a number of extracurricular activities including basketball, volleyball, cheerleading, dance team, choir, handbells, band, drama, and chess club. If parents are cliquish, our kids haven't noticed because our family likes to focus on all the positive aspects of their education at Pilgrim.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

As a parent of a child who attend from pre-3 through 8th grade, I can say without a doubt that Pilgrim is wonderful! With caring staff and parent volunteers to strong academics and extra activities -- PLS has it all. Students leave well prepared academically and spiritually. Their foundation is strong for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I have a child who has attended this school and I also found many of the parents to be unfriendly and cliqish. It also seems this school at times drives away caring and godly people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Black 2% 3%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Chris Herold
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We are specialists in equipping your children for life. Please visit our school for a tour and to meet with our teachers and staff.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jesuit High School
Valley Catholic High School
Beaverton High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5650 SW Hall Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97005
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 644-8697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Cecilia School
Beaverton, OR


Living Wisdom
Beaverton, OR



St. Stephens Academy
Beaverton, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT