Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Bend, OR
Students enrolled: 1,372

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Summit High School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a student
Since the new school principal was hired the school has gone downhill. The student feels as if she is taking away from the school. Assemblies are not engaging, and are usually thought of as a joke. Not many students are involved with the school, and new students feel as if it is a bad environment for making new friends. Every moment seems to be uncomfortable here. All the teachers are great people, however the faculty (all but Holler) do not relate to the students, and almost treat us as young kids, instead of growing adults.

Summit High School 4

Posted September 23, 2013
- a student
I am a senior at Summit and have been here since Freshmen year. The education is engaging and interesting if you take A.P. classes, but can lack charisma in standard classes. However, the student body is somewhat arrogant and snobby. Most everyone is nice and approachable, but most come from affluent families and are constantly feeling entitled. If you are not from a wealthy family it may be slightly difficult to fit in. The administration is inconsistent. We recently got a new principle who is very unpopular with the students. In the first months upon arriving she instated a strict dress code and began cracking down on the dances. Overall, Summit provides a good education but can feel suffocating I suppose like any other high school.


Summit High School 4

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
I did my homework and noticed this school has a new principal who start this year in July of 2012. In the teacher's opinion, is she must better than the last? Hoping for the best, might move here next year. Going by the test scores and hope for the new principal, I'm rating a 4 star.

Summit High School 3

Posted June 18, 2012
- a teacher
This school operates in a very loose atmosphere. The kids are allowed to come and go as they please just about, and miss school are every event under the sun, which compromises their learning. The principal calls teachers on the carpet for any and all student complaints, and gives very little support to teachers. He teaches the kids to complain to get out of work. The staff argues and competes with each other. The students seems to only do what they have to to get an "A" and nothing more. I would not send my child to this school.

Summit High School 1

Posted June 04, 2012
- a community member
Summit is not all it's cracked up to be. It's located in an affluent area of town and the students have a sense of entitlement. They are allowed to skip classes for numerous outside activities. The principal does not have strong leadership skills-does not support the teachers and lets the parents and students persuade his decisions. The teachers are excellent.


Summit High School 2

Posted December 20, 2010
- a parent
Administrative staff, teachers, counselors, coaches, are to lead by example providing a school atmosphere fair to all students, however, parent's income determines student treatment and the opportunities your child will be provided. Not a good life lesson for a developing teenager to be learning. Equality is a big issue here.

Summit High School 5

Posted December 15, 2010
- a teacher
Earned Oregon's top rating, "Outstanding" on the 2009-10 Oregon Department of Education State School Report Card. Only 37% of Oregon schools earned the same rating statewide.

Summit High School 3

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Summit High School 5

Posted January 16, 2010
- a student
Summit high school is one of the best school that i have gone to it has good teachers they all treat there students well and they help them a lot

Summit High School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
I am a local family portrait photographer and I have been most impressed with the seniors from Summit that I have photographed. They come from hands-on families that are really involved in their children's academic, extracurricular and social activities. The children seem joyful, mature, accomodating, and well-adjusted. Keep it up Summit Families and Faculty!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit High School
2855 NW Clearwater Dr, Bend, OR  97701
(541) 322-3300
Last modified Summit High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Summit High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top