Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Banks Christian Academy

Private | PK-9 | 74 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buxton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2012

This school is outstanding. I have two children that attend BCA and we love it. It has a family feeling and every child is treated with respect. My children are both learning so much more then I could have asked for. The staff, although underpaid, are some of the most fantasic teachers I have ever seen. They are not there for the money but for the love of the children, the school and for God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

My family has been a part of BCA for 6 years now. I have 3 children who attend the school. I have been so happy with how my kids have grown here at BCA. Not only have they grown academically they have grown as strong caring spiritual individuals. They are taught so much more beyond the typical school here. The skills they are learning here at BCA will serve each of them in life and give them the drive to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

During my eight years at Banks Christian Academy I have watched children blossom from dependent individuals to strong independent ones. Our small class sizes allow us to pay attention to the special needs of our students, whether the need is to be challenged, or to have their work adapted to fit their capabilities. We have a strong faith based teaching.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2011

We have four children that have had their lives eternally impacted by the ministry of BCA, since 2005. We love the atmosphere of the school and the setting. Our two oldest children are now in high school, both in Honor Society as well as playing sports. The education they received at BCA has been instrumental in their success . The writing and research skills taught to them by the teachers here have been such a blessing. The teachers have been an awesome combination of push when they need it and teach them how to help themselves. One of the teacher's primary goals was to instill in her students a love of learning. My children are a testament to her success. We still have an 8th grade student and a 5th grade student at BCA. We are so blessed for our kids to be in a loving, Christian environment. Recently one of my children was struggling in an area, and through the staff and teachers here, they were encouraged, hugged, prayed for and directed to God's love for them. It is awesome to send our children to a school that has the freedom to share Christ's love. The personal, spiritual and academic growth has touched their lives for eternity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2007

BCA has been wonderful for our Children. We have been at BCA for 2 yrs now, and feel the attention and academics our children receive is 110% above that at our local school. Our 2 children grades k and 4 have monthly field trips designed to enhance their curriculum, and our 4th grader who went from ahead to behind in public school is now ahead again. This would not have been possible without BCA. I would highly recommend BCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My children have attended Banks Christian Academy in Banks Oregon for five years now. They are academically pushed to their limits, and are given sound moral teachings. I'm glad that they all do well academically but more importantly, they're there to learn moral values. The teachers and other families there care and help each other. The staff and administration work hard to make sure that any child interested in going to our school can be there. It's a great small family like Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 73%
Hispanic 19% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 3%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22785 NW Fisher Rd
Buxton, OR 97109
Phone: (503) 324-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Visitation School
Forest Grove, OR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT