Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Prairie Mountain School 2

Posted September 20, 2014
- a community member
This school is terrible. The Aids that watch over the students at recess and lunch hunt for reasons to get them in trouble, they enjoy punishing kids who haven't even done anything wrong. I got a notice when i was there because i didn't go down the slide. They powertrip hardcore and are obsessed with punishing students at every turn. I've even had one aid tell me i could go play on the grass, and not 10 seconds later i was being yelled at for playing on the grass. On top of that, the principal is timid and shy, she doesn't seem to do anything but wander the hallways saying hello to the kids. If she sees you doing something wrong like running in the hallways, she will just say "No running in the halls, thank you" without bothering to see if you stopped or not. The only good thing about this school is some of the teachers are good. They engage the students and can be fun while still being strict enough, while other teachers are just atrocious at just about everything. I do not at all recommend this school. One of the worst things is bullying. If kids are bullying you, the teachers will pretend to do something when they really just ignore it and nothing gets reported or changed.

Prairie Mountain School 3

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
When my daughter started in this school in kindergarten she loved it there. I loved it there. The teachers in the elementary side of this school are hard working, innovative, caring people. And there is a huge amount of parental involvement. I highly recommend PMS for elementary school. Having said that, I also highly recommend moving your child somewhere else for middle school. The amount of bullying that goes on with students is atrocious and no one will do anything about it. Complaints are ignored and swept under the rug. The assistant principal targets certain students and harasses them regularly. I do not recommend this school for your middle school student.


Prairie Mountain School 4

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Overall good. The resources for those kids on IEP's are great! Only positive things to say about that one. I like that it is a K-8. easy for that transition. Great teachers. Secretarial staff? Cold. We have been here for 5 years. They barely acknowledge you when you come in the door. No, "Nice to see you, or how are you." Don't even try to get to know them bettter, they clam up and stare blankly at their computer screens like robots. That is my one beef with the school. If I could bypass the front secretarial area, I would.

Prairie Mountain School 4

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
My son has been here for 7 years! Most of the teachers are great and lots of the parents help out. I have helped out for years and love it, because you get to know the kids, teachers and staff.

Prairie Mountain School 1

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Principal's leadership is HORRIBLE!! Prairie Mountain used to be a great school before we got this principal last year. Principal doesn't seem to really care about the bullying and harassing that goes on..way too many things get swept under the rug now. Prairie Mountain needs someone that is going to take charge and be fair to all students EQUALLY.


Prairie Mountain School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
Principal's leadership is awful,not a very warm and caring person.Secretary that sits in front in the office is very unpleasant,don't understand why they put her there when they have a great one that's been there for years.Wake up Prairie Mountain.

Prairie Mountain School 1

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Principal's leadership is rediculous. I do not recommend this school.

Prairie Mountain School 1

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
Very unpleased with the Principal's lacking Judgement with Parent involvment!


Prairie Mountain School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Prairie Mountain School 5

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Mountain School
5305 Royal Ave, Eugene, OR  97402
(541) 607-9849
Last modified Prairie Mountain School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Prairie Mountain School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top