Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edison Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2014

This school is fantastic. Administration is great and the teachers are AMAZING. My children have all attended Edison before we moved to Junction City and all three of my kids loved it. I am not a fan of Scholl District 4-J but this is one school I am glad my kids attended. The teachers and staff are very much interested in parental involvement and are very responsive to concerns by parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

We moved into the area recently, and have loved a lot of things at Edison, and struggled with other things. As other parents have mentioned, it has been tough for our child to find friends here. It seems like most of the children here have known each other since preschool, and don't feel a big need to make friends with the new kid. Plus, all the children seem to have very busy schedules with lots of after-school lessons, activities, etc. It's hard to schedule playdates. The current principal is fantastic. He seems to want to stay here for a long time, and I hope he does because the kids love him. He has many excellent ideas about fostering community and getting children and parents involved in school initiatives. I think he can do great things here, with enough time. The three teachers we have had experience with have all been wonderful. My children have liked them all, and I feel that they have sincerely cared about the kids and have tried hard to teach well. The curriculum moves a bit slower than I had expected, although I do think that the teachers do a good job of arranging creative and interesting science projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

We moved here thinking this would be a great opportunity to send our kids to quality public schools. We couldn't have been more wrong. There has been a new principal 4 out of the last 5 years. The socioeconomic status is high so it looks like the school does well, but the reality is that the parents make up the difference. There is no identifiable curriculum. Each teacher does what he or she wants with no congruity or building of knowledge/skills over the years. There is a considerable anti-knowledge bias, so anything resembling a traditional education has been completely expunged. The well-off kids will make up for the dearth of learning going on at Edison later in life; what is sad is that the lower socioeconomic families who transfer in to this school thinking they are helping their kids are actually hurting them. Lower socioeconomic districts in the area like Bethel do a much better job. The have considerably greater challenges and fewer resources, but they have a cumulative and sequential curriculum. All the South Eugene Schools are built around around a social justice philosophy, which ironically ends up as only justice for the privileged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

We are relative newcomers to the area and chose this neighborhood primarily based on greatschools.org ratings. We love the school and the neighborhood and think it's doing the best with the economic challenges it is facing. I do agree with other commentaries that Edison does have higher test scores than other schools primarily because the socioeconomic base and education of the parents in this neighborhood is higher. I do find I need to supplement my child's education. Sadly art, music and physical education are very much lacking, so we spend quite a bit of time in extracurricular activities, but I believe that is the case in all Oregon schools right now. What I do think is that the teachers are dedicated and the volunteer involvement of parents is phenomenal, which greatly benefits the students at the school. I found no issues at all with my daughter quickly making friends or with parent cliques, although we jumped in with both feet in the community and have gotten involved. Not sure where those comments even come from as people have been very welcoming. I suppose the culture changes as different groups of parents go through the system, but our experience thus far has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

Looks great on paper because it moves children that can't pass the tests. It is NOT one of the best schools unless you have a median student, if you have a very advanced student or a child with learning difficulties be prepared to supplement a lot! It is getting it's 3rd principal in 2 years for the 2011/12 school year. 4J is downing in its self pity about class sizes, instead of stepping up all you will hear is complaining from admin and teachers. Your child will not be an individual in this school:Oregon hires and lays off its teachers based only on seniority (only 5 states still do this) this means it is not the best that stay, but the most complacent-they don't HAVE to try hard. Watch out for the junior high like clicks especially if you are of color.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

I am rating this school as average for Eugene, however, it would rating below average in other parts of the country. From what I understand it used to be a better school, but we had to pull our child out due to the lack of communication between parents and teachers (teachers here are extremely defensive -likely due to crowded class sizes and lack of time to prepare). Kids do not receive good individual attention and those who excel are left to fend for themselves. Homework is rarely given because the teachers have no time to review it. Over crowing leads to common school yard bullying problems here. The Kindergarten program suffers from being cut to 4 short mornings that include very little academic content-- so first grade is essential Kindergarten. Children who manage to do well here must supplement their education with Kumon or other work at home with parents or a tudor. Extreme cuts in the PE and music programs take the joy out of a day at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

As far as schools in Eugene go, Edison is certainly among the very best. My daughter has had smart, committed and caring teachers, with one exception in second grade. The principal is a strong leader and the PE and music programs are great. My only frustration has been all the fundraising we have to do, but I guess that's everywhere. In terms of cliquey parents mentioned in other reviews, have found that that more I got involved, the less that was an issue - so not a problem really for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

We had a bad experience at this school and left after one year. This school seems to target teaching to the child that needs to reach the state benchmark, but not to other students. The principal was weak (but now is moving schools). There were numerous parent cliques.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

We loved this school! There is a huge sense of community and ample opportunies for parental involvement. However, do not be fooled by high-test scores and students' performances because those are obviously attributed to higher socioeconomic children and thus, Edison's high-test scores are a direct result of clientele. The teachers and principal have cushioned jobs with few students who are academic and behavior challenges. I volunteered, and always walked into a quiet office with the principal on his computer. Honestly, it seemed like all he did was think of random things to do for appearances. He also had numerous volunteers (women) doing his job. Anyone could lead and/or work at that school, and it would continue to run its course. The principal and most of the staff are friendly. We only did not like one of our child's teachers who taught kindergarten then second grade. All other experiences were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

This is a terrific elementary school. Great teachers, committed principal, core values (compassion, respect, integrity, etc.) woven into the curriculum and the culture. I agree about parents being a little clique-y -- it is not the easiest school to join as a newcomer, but my daughter joined sports teams and activities and it got a lot better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Excellent school for educational and social skills. Parents can be a little cliqeuy, but overall tremendous feeling having had two daughters attend three years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Writing

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female81%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation17%

Reading

All Students93%
Female89%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodation67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students>=95%
Female>=95%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female68%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female82%
Male>=95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 65%
Hispanic 10% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1328 East 22nd Ave
Eugene, OR 97403
Website: Click here
Phone: (541) 790-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Village School
Eugene, OR




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT