Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
This is an excellent school to immerse and learn about Japanese culture. Since teachers are Japanese native-speakers, kids learn to speak Japanese the right way without leaving English behind. My daughter enjoys a lot been at this school, English is her second language and Japanese her third.

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 3

Posted January 27, 2011
- a parent
The immersion program is great for an alternate learning environment and YG offers a unique opportunity in a public system. I do believe that there is room for improvement. On the Japanese side of things, the instructors seem to have a "get it" or get left behind system. Maybe that is the Japanese way, but that doesn't work if your kid stumbles and gets behind (kind of a no mercy system). Some teachers are great, others mediocre at best. The Principal is somewhat of a pacifist and he has ducked difficult matters and conversations in the past. Also, it is my impression that there is a fair amount of children attending that come to the school knowing Japanese, which off balances the learning process. Additionally, it appears from watching classrooms activities and extra curricular programs that the girls and leading their classes over boys by leaps and bounds?? Choose Wisely!


Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year at YG, and so far she absolutely loves it! We haven't been around long, but you can definately tell that the parents and teachers are really involved and that they truly care for the students and their education. The program itself is amazing. After the first couple of days of school my daughter was already walking around singing Japanese songs! Not only is there language immersion, but there is also an emphasis on computer skills at this school, which is nice especially in today's society.

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
My chlid loves this school! Coming from a private school, my nerves were jittery about the transition. The last school only had 25 kids total (k-5). Each class had just under 25 kids with 2 classes for each grade. The teachers are amazing! The Principal knows his students, each and every one of them! This school has a wonderful balance of discipline and fun, while provinding a high level of education to all the children. I'm proud to have my child attend YG. This place is so affordable, all it costs is my time. Volunteering is a worth while investment in my childs education. Thank you!

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Love the atmosphere. It is a pubic school ran like a private school and the kids all seem happy.


Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Yujin Gakuen is one of the top schools in Eugene. The staff and parents working together is truly amazing. The lottery system has nothing to do with 'donations.' In fact it is run by District 4J and YG has nothing to do with it. It does however give preference to siblings already attending. Also this is a public school so there is no 'price.' Only a modest supply list and activity fee. ($25) If you are interested in solid academics, performances, and of course learning Japanese in an immersion style environment. Check out Yujin Gakuen.

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
My three daughters went to Yujin Gakuen and they loved it. It is true there is a lottery, but most children get into the school. Parents are typically very involved and supportive. The School is challenging because children spend half the day immersed in a Japanese only classroom. I would recommend this school to parents of children who enjoy learning about other cultures. I don't recommend this school for children who need a slower paced, all English curriculum. Remember, the kids only get half the usual English instruction in this school. In general the school is great and most kids do very well. Children who have difficulty learning the Japanese receive extra tutoring.

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
I am so glad my child attended YG. It was a great environment for my daughter, she enjoyed attending YG and they made learning exciting and interesting for her. It is great that they teach more than just the Japanese language, but also the Japanese culture. As far as the school being 'overpriced,' I would have to disagree. If you check, YG spends less per student compared with the average of other Oregon public schools. They also have a higher student count per teacher compared with the average from other Oregon public schools, but still got better ratings than other public schools in the area. There are more pros than cons at YG, and I believe this school also gives real life skills that the students can use when they become adults.


Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 1

Posted February 21, 2008
- a parent
Although this is a unique school around here. They are definately sub-par compaired to other immersion programs I have looked at for my son. The school is right next to a busy street where the Highschoolers drive all the time. The Highschool is right next door. This school is overpriced and has a poor lottery system to see if you child can attend. The more you donate the better chance your kid has getting in here.

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
five stars ! Excellent teaching methods and learning curriculum

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yujin Gakuen Elementary School
250 Silver Ln, Eugene, OR  97404
(541) 790-4606
Last modified Yujin Gakuen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yujin Gakuen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top