Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salish Ponds Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

This is a such a great school, we come from California where the child to teacher ratio was higher, both teachers my son has had were terrific, and very involved! I don't see how this school has such a score, when it excels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Salish Ponds has gone through some changes with the principal and their reading program. When my children first started, there were teachers who went in everyday to help with reading in the class. The kids were in small groups so they had more attention. Now, there is a teacher with 30 or more kids in the room. My child has over 30 students and said she does not get a lot of help because the teacher cannot even meet with the kids in small group but once a week. This is not the teacher's fault, my daughter really likes her teacher. We really like the office staff and the teachers and the counselor has been helpful. Communication from the principal who is new is not the greatest and I have heard kids in my daughters class using bad language or being rude to other kids or even adults, which I had not witnessed a couple of years ago. Overall though, I have loved this building and it's staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I had a great experience w/Salish Ponds Elementary. My 1st grader loved his teacher Mrs. Nuygen. She is very delightful. We had to transfer to this school and the process was very quick and easy. I'm one of those parents who is not a fan of uniform clothes and this school is a manditory uniform school. I believe it doesn't make a difference in any way shape or form for the children, especially in Elementary school. It's more of an expense problem for the parents!! So for that, I give it 4 stars instead of 5. And I never could figure out who the Principal was. She didn't ever introduce herself or make herself known in the office or at school functions. Which the other schools I checked out did, so I found that a little puzzling as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

I HATE this school. Teacher communication is absolutely TERRIBLE! Receive notifications for school pictures and extra curricular activities 1 or 2 days before the deadline for payment. The staff seems nice but in general have no clue what they are doing. I once received a phone call saying that my son was not in class, after I had watched him get on the bus, I call and no one had any idea if he was in class or not, so I had to leave my job and drive there in order to make sure my son was there! he was in class the whole time, but you can imagine as a parent how scary that would be. The principal is nice however has taken a crusade on cracking down on cursing when there is an abundant bully problem. seems her priorities are not in the right places. The experience I have had thus far with the 1st grade teacher is a complete refusal to make ANY effort to maintain contact with me or my husband. This is after several visits to school and giving email and phone numbers for her to contact us about my sons progress. Unless we physically going to the school during the day, there is no communication and we have made SEVERAL attempts throughout the year. we are thankfully moving soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

I absolutely hate this school!!! I have 2 boys who are both currently attending this school. 1 of my children excels and the other struggles...while the one that is struggling is getting help the one that is advanced is not. The parent teacher communication is lacking and I constantly feel that I am the only one making an effort. My kids went to Hall Elementary last year and I just absolutely HATE this school!! If they could get picked up by a bus to go anywhere else I would have them there!! I already have plans and my kids have been accepted to go to a charter school next year. I can't wait to say good bye and good riddance!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I hate to say good bye to the school. My Girls have been going here from the start of K and this is there last year. The Staff is very much on point to the the kids and parents needs. There is really nothing that I can say about this school that I have not loved and cherrished the years that I have been involved. If you get a chance to be in this area and you love the fact that your child will be wearing uniforms to learn and not see who has on what you have come to the right place --- Salish Ponds I will miss you, and wish that it went all the way to Highshl
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

what can I say about this school?..has been the best experience for us my daughter, wife and myself, the teachers really take care of our kids, I, very proudof this school, my daughter its finishing the school in here, but I'm still goint to be part of this school maybe for 5 more years (mi son its starting the school) great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

My oldest daughter has attended Salish Ponds since it opened. I have been impressed and thrilled with the teachers, staff and leadership of the school. My daughter has not only grown in her education but also in her confidence because of the amazing music program we have. I am happy that while my oldest will be leaving next year I have 3 more years to be involved in the school. I will say that my only negative is that not enough parents get involved. Go to the meetings, meet the teachers - they love the parents almost as much as the students! Thank you Salish Ponds for being part of my children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

Great Teachers; wonderful music program, one of the best around. The uniforms are great. If you are looking for timely communications, not here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Wow. We love Salish Ponds, the teachers, and we love the principal. She is always available, helpful, friendly, and a real problem-solver. We love having our kids go to this school, it's like a private school, but it's public! There were some gossipy, negative parents, and a weak parent group, controlled by just a few of the moms. My husband and I refused to keep going to those meetings because of the negative attitude of these women. This year, we have been to almost all of the meetings of the new parent group and the principal has reorganized the group because it was a mess! She seems to have turned it around into a positive experience. Some parents don't appreciate good leadership! Nice work Salish Ponds! I wouldn't want my kids in any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

We have been very pleased with our school. Our oldest started as a first grader when the school opened in 2003, and each year the school has improved. Teachers and administrators show genuine care for their students, and there is a major focus on creating an environment for learning. Although initially unsure of our feelings about a 'code of dress' (basically uniforms) we have been very happy with this policy and think it makes a real difference for the children at the school. All of the teachers we have had have been very willing to work with us to meet our children's individual needs. The music program is particularly impressive, with performances and programs that are enjoyable and well put-together. There is still room to improve and grow for this school, but overall, I would recommend it without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

Great school. Great staff. Great leadership. Great progress kids make. Dedicated people working with kids - making a difference! I wouldn't want my kids to go anywhere else! It's like a private school, except it's public. More schools should look to the leadership of Salish ponds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Salish Ponds is like a model school. We have to move, so we are going to find another home in Salish Ponds area just because of the school! It has been the best school ever! Every teacher is awesome. The principal is friendly, caring, and welcomes the kids to school in the morning. She returns parent calls right away, sends notes home to kids, and works with the parents. Flowers are blooming all over the front entry. The office staff is great. Most of all, the kids learn at Salish Ponds! There are not many behavior problems because the principal and teachers all work together with a common goal and mission. There are four or five parents with really negative attitudes about everything in their lives, but there are always people in the world like that. The staff doesn't let those few negative parents bring anyone down! Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Salish Ponds is an amazing school! My children are doing better than they have ever done in school. The teachers really connect with the students at this school and put alot of extra time and energy into making the lessons great. The principal is friendly, smart and dynamic. She has made the school a place where chidlren (and adults) want to spend their days. Children wear code of dress to school and we love it as parents and most of the children love it, too. The principal is really involved in the learning of the children and is an instructional leader. The school has a great music program. All 4th and 5th graders can be in band or orchestra - and they even have a marimba band! You should really go and see this school! It's a treasure that is hidden back out of view of the street!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

Salish Ponds ELementary is a wonderful school for any k-5 student. I especially like that every child participates in art, gym, and music. Salish Ponds has wonderful incentive programs tailored to the childs grade level for completing homework and reading assignments on time. They stress the importance of reading and comprehension to every student and they offer a curriculum that is designed to be both challenging and fun. Both of my boys, grades K and 5, like the fact that Salish Ponds Elementary has a Code of Dress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female29%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female32%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female31%
Male38%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracial43%
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female51%
Male53%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracial71%
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners33%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female41%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female56%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Science

All Students41%
Female55%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners11%
Migrantn/a
Academically gifted>=95%
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 21%
White 36% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1210 NE 201st Ave
Fairview, OR 97024
Phone: (503) 492-7260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT