Advertisement
Advertisement

Rivergate Adventist Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 157 students

Our school is best known for its family atmosphere.

 

Living in Gladstone

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2010

I love this school for my kids, I have 2 kids attending it. Harray for Mr Smith, grade 1&2 teacher!! He is the best teacher-- God Bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I love all the teachers, and appreciate how much of their time they give to the children. I do agree with one of the other parents about the office staff. Sometimes great and other times not so great. Depends on the day I guess. I do love all of them though. The principal seems to care for the overall progress of the school and deals fairly when their is an incident to respond to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

I wish the teachers/facualty/staff cared if a child was leaving/having problems. I had a child with a problem, we pulled him out of the school. Not one call, letter or nod of the head from anyone regarding the situation. Comings and goings seem to not be cared about. This came full circle, when we attend Camp Meeting and my child saw old friends and faculty. Not one person said they wished he was back. WWJD! It made me sad to know he felt unwanted in a christian setting. Our other child is very happy and healthy at Rivergate. Grades are high and attitude is great. Just a differant personality from our other child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

The pre-school at Rivergate is amazing, full of learning and fun. The pre-school teachers are very friendly. The prices are very reasonable, especially considering the level of care my child received. The teacher is leaving this year, but I'm sure the quality of the program will stay. However I did not have as good of an experience when dealing with the administration at the School, I felt it was unorganized, and I was treated rudely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

This school has been extraordinary for my children. The school provides a structured, safe and loving environment. The staff (from the front office to the teachers to the latchkey staff) have shown a sincere dedication to ensuring a healthy opportunity for my children to grow academically, emotionally and spiritually. The students are offered healthy, vegetarian meals that are prepared daily. I have complete confidence in and appreciation for the staff at Rivergate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2007

The leadership at this school has major problems. The office personal need to learn better PR. I was always treated with rudeness and disrespect from the school secretary. The 2, 3, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th grade teachers are wonderful and true examples of true Christianity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

This school is exactly what we were looking for. It is small and offers more than larger schools. THe 4th grade teacher is FABULOUS, she cares and actually hugs the students and gets excited about teaching. I appreciate the cleanliness also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

The school would benefit from a different leadership than is currently in place. However, parental involvement is outstanding. When my daughters attended, safety was never an issue, but use of funding was questionable.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 73%
Two or more races 14% N/A
Hispanic 11% 18%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Christopher Tait
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-Day Adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Seventh-day Adventist Church
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
157
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
157

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Portland Adventist Academy
Milo Adventist Academy
Public High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1505 Rivergate School Rd.
Gladstone, OR 97027
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 656-0544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Alliance Charter Academy
Oregon City, OR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT