Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 2 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Gladstone

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2009

Grace Christian is a really good school. The teachers are very loving and chapel each week is taught by an awesome woman of God. The Abeka curriculum is a little tough and over the top. I wish they would mix in other curriculum for subjects such as science and math which Abeka is known to have some kinks with. They have expanded through highschool and the new buildings are very nice. I reccommend the school because of it's Christ centeredness, good teachers and affordable cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

As a parent who had both of my children here for 4 years I can honestly say that real Christian values need to be re-examined by the owners of this school. I have witnessed first hand much unfair treatment to staff and favortism among their own relatives who work there. Also money mis-management, secrets, and promises made that never happened. Such as working bathrooms, safe playground equipment, and fair treatment for persons who are not related to the owners. As a parent who has never missed a field trip, classroom party, or opportunity to help my children's teachers, I was very dissapointed to have to remove my children from this school. Some of the teachers here are wonderful and I can only imagine they stay for the sake of the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

Overall GCS is a great school. My oldest has attended for 9 1/2 years. At times I have questioned the qualifications of choices of teachers made by leadership. I have to weigh it against the big picture. Does the good out weigh the bad? For me yes. The fact that my kids love coming to school and love learning,they have the freedom to worship God and pray in school, and uphold the values that America was founded on out weigh how fancy the school is or isn't. No school is perfect, and as a parent we should not set those demands if we are not willing to do more than just drive up to the door and drop our kids off as we complain about what the school is lacking. We have to be willing to continue teaching our kids how to give back and make it the very best possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

GCS has come a long way since their doors have opened many years ago. They now have seperate buildings to accommodate the Jr. High and High School students. They have Art, Computer Lab, and Spanish teachers. As for extra curricular activities, they now have a successful dance team - which have won 1st place trophies last year - and participation is up for this sport. If parents are happy with this school, then they should help make it even better by donating funds, supplies, volunteering, or anything that can help. The reward will be the greatest gift - your children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

My daughter started at GCS last year as a pre-schooler. Although she could go to public school for free this year, I gladly pay the tuition to keep her in a place where she is not only taught basics at an advanced level, but her moral character and values are also highly regarded. Although the building is not new by any means, the staff have only one priority; the children and their relationships in life and with God. The facility is not filthy. I love that all parents are encouraged to help out in any way possible. I don't think I would feel as connected to my child's education and personal development if she were to go to public school. As long as there are finances to do so, I will keep her at Grace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

Grace Christian School has been our school of choice for many years. Now that they have expanded their Jr High and High School I plan on keeping all of my children there. I highly recommend this school located in Gladstone Oregon. Upon reading another comment of students having behavioral issues, I find that to be a false statement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

As one of the least expensive private schools in the Portland area, Grace Christian draws a fair number of kids with behavioral issues. Staff are generally Christians, but students are not necessarily. The homeschool curriculum used (Abeka) is top-notch, but teachers aren't required to have a degree or certification of any kind. There are no background checks for staff or volunteers. Facilities are filthy and in disrepair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

Other than the lack of extra curricular activities I think this school is wonderful. THe teachers are very supportive and caring and everyone is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

GCS has a great curricular!! They don't have music, sports, etc. but it is a great school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

Small, but growing. They are expanding this year (2007). Great Christian Atmosphere and focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 65%
Hispanic 8% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mardel Watteruud
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (503) 655-1704

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6460 Glen Echo Avenue
Gladstone, OR 97027
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 655-3074

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gladstone High School
Gladstone, OR







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT