Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W Verne Mckinney Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

With two children who have attended this school for many years, I have seen it go through many changes, especially in leadership. We used to love this school in the beginning, but sadly, the overall quality of the school has experienced a decline in the last few years. We do not have the financial means to pursue private school options, so we are "stuck" so to speak. Our kids do not struggle the way many second-language learners do, so they tend to fall between the cracks in terms of priority. Communication is very poor and the emphasis on test scores is disheartening. The most recent principal just left for unspecified reasons before the school year even ended. No explanation from the district either. It is frustrating to say the least. Also, thriving in an environment that focuses so much standardized test scores is a challenge for students that need more creative and cognitive challenges. None of this bodes well for student or community morale. Thankfully, my kids have been fortunate enough to have some amazingly caring and dedicated teachers over the years and that has been McKinney's saving grace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

During my daughter's preschool years, I heard a lot of negative comments about this school from my neighbors and so it was with some misgivings that I enrolled my daughter for Kindergarten. Sometimes communication is not as good as it could be, but otherwise, I've been surprisingly impressed by the administration (new since 2012-2013), the behavior of the kids, and every teacher I have interacted with, especially my child's teacher. Parent involvement is not as widespread as I would like to see, and the PTO is sorely understaffed, but it's a good school and I think it's getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

I thought I would address some of the issues past reviews have mentioned. Since 2012-2013 school year McKinney has had a new principal who has worked really hard to unify the school, set high expectations for students and teachers, and who has been very involved in behavior expectations for the children. Since he has been there test scores have significantly increased, behavioral referrals have dropped dramatically, the school is equipped with new computers, and student learning can be tracked by reading and math programs that work. The PTO works hard for the school and is inviting and welcoming to all. The office staff is nice and helpful. The school website and PTO facebook page are updated often and is easy to use and find information on. Overall I think Mckinney is a wonderful school and has made some really good improvements over the past years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

I would have to agree with the first 2 reviewers that this school is facing a lot of problems. The current principal has only been there for 3 years and in that time the school has gone downhill fast. Huge lack of disciplinary action, no accountability, very little communication and there is no "community" in or around the school. The teachers care and are overall pretty good but they are strapped for time and if your child is English speaking and an average or above average student they will be pushed aside and forgotten because all of the attention goes to the kids that can't pass the benchmarks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My child has attended this school for one year. I must say they haven't a clue. You call the office to inquire of up coming activities and no one knows whats going on. They don't know who to contacted and won't call back. The website is a joke with no real information. I am all for diversity, my first language was not English nor are my parents from the U.S. But the fact that their were only 12 out of 29 kids that spoke fluent English is shocking and scary. My child felt very left out from his piers/cliks. Since Spanish was the main language on the play ground he could'nt understand what was being said. When I expressed my concerns with admin they brushed me off and said they don't allow that. Need less to say nothing ever changed. I would not recommend this school to anyone, they are just way out of touch!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This school has some major challenges and based upon my son attending both Kindergarten and 1st grade here I would say that the school does not have the leadership at the top level to address them. My son was bullied and was told by another student that his siblings were going to be killed (by running over them with his motorcylce). The principal assured us that she would be visiting the classroom to address this, however after following up with our son everyday for the next two weeks and after noticing how surprised she was when we asked how the visit went it was clear that she did not. She also told us "I know that kid and he doesn't even have a motorcyle (not exaclty the response we were looking for). After working with the school for a few months, raising concerns and putting a plan in place at home, we grew tired of him crying every night begging not to go back to that school. We made the difficult decision to pull him mid year and he now goes to bed everyday excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

I am glad that my daughter was transferred to this school. Whenever I have contacted any staff member at this school (always via email) I get a response within 24 hours! Her teacher is 100% on board with the teacher-parent relationship and is always willing to listen to any suggestions that I may have regarding my daughter's lessons. The staff is very caring and this shows in every interaction that I've had. I've also had experience with the personalized teaching as my daughter often attends lessons outside of her own classroom (reading and writing-TAG, math-below grade level). Overall, I am glad that she is at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son was on a difficult IEP and had a great team assembled to assist him. Teachers have a great involvement with the kids! Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

This is by far the best school we have ever attended. Each subject is broken up to groups and is taught at the student's level. My daughter had an IEP (Educational Assistance) applied to her in 3rd Grade for every subject including math. Today she is in Fifth grade doing algebra and reading above her grade level. This is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female33%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners21%
Migrant17%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female61%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners32%
Migrant50%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female62%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial83%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners28%
Migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial>=95%
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners44%
Migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation14%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female41%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities<=5%
English language learners18%
Migrant17%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation<=5%

Reading

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners27%
Migrant50%
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodation14%

Science

All Students55%
Female56%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners18%
Migrant17%
Academically gifted86%
Special Education with Accomodation25%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female64%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners38%
Migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Special Education with Accomodationn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oregon used the Oregon Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (OAKS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grade 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The OAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oregon. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Oregon Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 21%
White 43% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 NW Darnielle St
Hillsboro, OR 97124
Phone: (503) 844-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT