Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Hillsboro, OR
Students enrolled: 514
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great community and support! Interim principal was not my favorite person for some poor decisions, but looking forward to what the new principal has to offer. I only wish the tons of kindergarteners could get there space in the school back instead of the 10 children who will now use it. Seems like the needs of a few outweighed the needs of many more on this decision. I feel moving every class in the school was a rash and poor decision.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is incredible. Both of my kids go there and they love it there.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy that our children are at Jackson Elementary. It is truly a community of hard working staff , involved parents and really great kids. A lot of the school staff live right in the neighborhood and their kids attend the school adding to the tight knit community atmosphere. The teachers put everything into our children helping each one out as if each child was their own. The teachers and parents put on so many great after school programs (chess, lego, art, music). The PTA is such a strong supporter of our school, each grade is able to learn and experience so many great things ( OMSI, Oregon Zoo, Theater productions, Outdoor School, BIZ Town) thanks to PTA. Our school calendar is also filled with so many fun family friendly community nights (back to school social, fall festival, movie night, bingo night, spring fling, family games night, moms & muffins, dads & donuts). Our children are thriving at Jackson, thank you to all of the teachers and staff!!

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
We can not say enough wonderful things about Jackson Elementary School!! The teachers, the staff, the parents who volunteer, the families who make this such a wonderful community. The teachers do their very best to help each student if they need more help or to be challenged more. The after school programs that are offered are wonderful. The family friendly evenings are the best to get to know more families that you see in passing everyday. So thankful for the great teachers, great staff and great PTA that Jackson Elementary has.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children that have gone (or are going) through this school starting at Kindergarten. The teachers, and staff are incredibly friendly. The kids, and other parents are also friendly, and everyone in PTA is committed to make Jackson School a great educational institution. My only minor concern is the interim principle, but this should be resolved soon.


Jackson Elementary School 1

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
I am a former student and now a parent of a student and i do not recommend thos school to any child unless they want to fall behind with poor accacademics and no help from teachers and a horrible interim principal that will thankfully be replaced But even when that happens i dont see the school improving. And they really need help with their parking situation. Picking up your child is a nightmare.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
I have been so impressed with Jackson Elementary school. The blended K-1 class did not end up happening and the kindergarten has the lowest amount of students in each class around. I have been so happy with all my daughter has learned so far in Kindergarten. She is learning to read and do addition and subtraction but she is also having so much fun, with plenty of time for free play which I feel is so important. There is so much parent involvement it really allows the teacher to do fun projects she wouldn't be able to do without parent help.

Jackson Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
The school was excellent when we first started coming here in 2009. Mr. Pede was a good principal and the ratio of truly outstanding teachers to mediocre ones was in favor of the outstanding ones. Unfortunately, Mr. Pede moved to a position with the district and was replaced by Mr. Lee who does not have the same rapport or respect for parents or students. Now, all but 4th grade have blended classrooms including a joke of a K/1 blend where a dozen first graders will get to share their morning with one set of kinders and then later another set of kinders. Avoid Jackson unless you're a fan of blended classrooms. There are some truly gifted teachers (Mrs.Hall, Mrs. Boyer, Mrs. Ward) but I don't know that even they can overcome the challenges of a blended classroom or a principal who thinks parents should be seen and not heard and sit quietly at "meetings" and just go along with his vision.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Jackson is a very true, accepting, and loving community that accepts all children and parents, no matter what race or physical appearance that they have. The staff is extremely helpful and understanding, and will always help someone in need. the principal, Mr.Lee, is so warm, funny, and welcoming to everybody. At each Town Hall at the start of each month, Mr.Lee makes a very humorous news video called "The Jackson News". Whenever I watch it, I laugh! Jackson is overall an amazing school!!!

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has shown great improvement in her reading and writing skills since she joined this school. I result was gradual but very good. Apart from education the school focusses on other extra curricular activities which are very beneficial for the overall development of the child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Elementary School
675 NE Estate Dr, Hillsboro, OR  97124
(503) 844-1670
Last modified Jackson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top