Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Hillsboro, OR
Students enrolled: 514

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
I have been so impressed with Jackson Elementary school. The blended K-1 class did not end up happening and the kindergarten has the lowest amount of students in each class around. I have been so happy with all my daughter has learned so far in Kindergarten. She is learning to read and do addition and subtraction but she is also having so much fun, with plenty of time for free play which I feel is so important. There is so much parent involvement it really allows the teacher to do fun projects she wouldn't be able to do without parent help.

Jackson Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
The school was excellent when we first started coming here in 2009. Mr. Pede was a good principal and the ratio of truly outstanding teachers to mediocre ones was in favor of the outstanding ones. Unfortunately, Mr. Pede moved to a position with the district and was replaced by Mr. Lee who does not have the same rapport or respect for parents or students. Now, all but 4th grade have blended classrooms including a joke of a K/1 blend where a dozen first graders will get to share their morning with one set of kinders and then later another set of kinders. Avoid Jackson unless you're a fan of blended classrooms. There are some truly gifted teachers (Mrs.Hall, Mrs. Boyer, Mrs. Ward) but I don't know that even they can overcome the challenges of a blended classroom or a principal who thinks parents should be seen and not heard and sit quietly at "meetings" and just go along with his vision.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Jackson is a very true, accepting, and loving community that accepts all children and parents, no matter what race or physical appearance that they have. The staff is extremely helpful and understanding, and will always help someone in need. the principal, Mr.Lee, is so warm, funny, and welcoming to everybody. At each Town Hall at the start of each month, Mr.Lee makes a very humorous news video called "The Jackson News". Whenever I watch it, I laugh! Jackson is overall an amazing school!!!

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has shown great improvement in her reading and writing skills since she joined this school. I result was gradual but very good. Apart from education the school focusses on other extra curricular activities which are very beneficial for the overall development of the child.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a community member
Jackson is a true community school where ALL staff care about the students. There is a strong arts, science, math and reading emphasis at Jackson. The Jackson PTA is a dedicated group of parents who want quality programs for the kids. The teachers and staff are wonderful. They really take much time getting to know each student.


Jackson Elementary School 2

Posted January 12, 2012
- a community member
Poor response to special education students complaints about being bullied by another student with conduct disorders who is in foster care. Special needs student accused of lying about the ongoing bullying. Opinion the school is covering up for the foster child who has the "system" support whereas the special needs child is the most vulnerable but truthful and therefore using this to discredit the child. Poor counselor to advocate for the safety of special need student at school prefers to hide the problems of the student being bullied, there seems to be a pattern of conduct by this individual to demean the parents who are of lower income and education level which in my opinion is also systematic bullying of not only the child but the parents who are doing the best to advocate for their special needs child.

Jackson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a community member
The staff and the commitment to low income and new US residents

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
First and formost you must have a involved leader to have a excellent school. Mr Pede the school principal really has got it right. I am 43 years old and I just have never seen anything like it in my life. I have lunch with my daughter 1 or 2 times a week and Mr Pede is always right there making sure the children make healthy choices. Which you must have great brain food to learn. This is something he does everyday. Jackson School doesn't participate in the kids selling cookies candy etc to raise money. We have whats called a Fun Run once a year to raise money for field trips etc for the kids. Our district scores are excellent one of the best so I do feel the teachers of Jackson School are more then doing their part to help in the students learning process. This money would really help this year and maybe into the next to keep giving all the students the education they so deserve.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
Great community. Parents are involved. Staff is helpful. PTA is involved. Teachers work hard and care about my kids.

Jackson Elementary School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I was not happy w/the kindergarden and t/f'd my child to private due to lack of education/stimulation. However, 1st grade has been impressive. Unlike kindergarden, her current teacher encourages growth in academics, manners, and social. However, parking lot safety in absent. Parents park where ever they want w/not thought to child safety.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Elementary School
675 NE Estate Dr, Hillsboro, OR  97124
(503) 844-1670
Last modified Jackson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top