Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jackson Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Former teacher probably Misses Macintosh who was probably an exception to the horror I suffered as a child and was actually the best teacher I had at the school.

Jackson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Some were very effective, misses Macintosh? Very good at teaching Algerbra. There was a British woman though back there, old lady, Very cruel, very cold, it was distracting.


Jackson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Back in the 1990s? way too much. It was overburdening and extremely ridicolous but then again my IQ levels were extremely high and that for whatever reason wasn't enough to get me out of being inundated in paperwork. My test scores were high but I had low grades because TOO MUCH HOMEWORK. Nobody ever realized that this meant I wasn't being challenged by the course work.

Jackson Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Well; I mean part of the Experience of being bullied terribly did make me Determined to get the hell out of there. But that's not exactly a compliment.

Jackson Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a community member
Again I was repeatedly insulted harassed and Denigrated by students, if I did report this they would tell me that that's just part of life and I needed to "learn to get along." with "people I don't like" and "that's just life." Needless to say my Income levels are rising i'm an investor and I've found later in life If I don't get along with you I don't have to put up with you for even a second.


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great community and support! Interim principal was not my favorite person for some poor decisions, but looking forward to what the new principal has to offer. I only wish the tons of kindergarteners could get there space in the school back instead of the 10 children who will now use it. Seems like the needs of a few outweighed the needs of many more on this decision. I feel moving every class in the school was a rash and poor decision.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is incredible. Both of my kids go there and they love it there.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
We are so happy that our children are at Jackson Elementary. It is truly a community of hard working staff , involved parents and really great kids. A lot of the school staff live right in the neighborhood and their kids attend the school adding to the tight knit community atmosphere. The teachers put everything into our children helping each one out as if each child was their own. The teachers and parents put on so many great after school programs (chess, lego, art, music). The PTA is such a strong supporter of our school, each grade is able to learn and experience so many great things ( OMSI, Oregon Zoo, Theater productions, Outdoor School, BIZ Town) thanks to PTA. Our school calendar is also filled with so many fun family friendly community nights (back to school social, fall festival, movie night, bingo night, spring fling, family games night, moms & muffins, dads & donuts). Our children are thriving at Jackson, thank you to all of the teachers and staff!!


Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
We can not say enough wonderful things about Jackson Elementary School!! The teachers, the staff, the parents who volunteer, the families who make this such a wonderful community. The teachers do their very best to help each student if they need more help or to be challenged more. The after school programs that are offered are wonderful. The family friendly evenings are the best to get to know more families that you see in passing everyday. So thankful for the great teachers, great staff and great PTA that Jackson Elementary has.

Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children that have gone (or are going) through this school starting at Kindergarten. The teachers, and staff are incredibly friendly. The kids, and other parents are also friendly, and everyone in PTA is committed to make Jackson School a great educational institution. My only minor concern is the interim principle, but this should be resolved soon.

Nearby schools

Jackson Elementary School
675 NE Estate Dr, Hillsboro, OR  97124
(503) 844-1670
Last modified Jackson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top