Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Agatha Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 197 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2012

We could not be happier! Our first grader was having a very hard time in public school and she is now excelling. Ms. Harris has to be one of the best teachers we have seen. We have seen a all around improvement both at school and at home! Before I would ask how her day was and I got the "good" now I get a detailed time line of each minute! We are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

St. Agatha Catholic school is a great place for children to grow and excel! The academics are demanding, the teachers are hard-working and engaged and the newer facility is fantastic and equipped with a new Science and Technology Wing that rivals many area high schools. Parents are involved here too helping to contribute to a thriving and active community. The PS thru 8th Grade system is fantastic and allows natural opportunities for middle school students to be peer leaders and set great examples for the younger students. All around, a great and affordable private school option!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

An Exceptional School! St. Agatha really is a best kept secret in the city of Portland. It provides an exceptional learning environment. Priding themselves with talented teachers, a modern facility, and intimate classroom sizes. It is one of the best schools in the city! For a private school it's also the most affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

This is the best school in SE Portland without a doubt. From the brand new facility to the high parental involvement to the caliber of teachers and the relative affordability, St. Agatha school is a leader! Your child will flourish here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I left St. Agatha because of cliques, and some of the parents. The teachers were great because they wanted you to excel but there were lots of cliques. Because there were cliques there were also some cliques in the parents which was difficult. HLC is okay but is not as extravagant as they make it out to be. This school has definitely changed from what it used to be. I think that some people can go there and learn maybe. The teachers are good but I don't think you are properly prepared for high school. After I left St. Agatha I went to a very good school and feel really good with my education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2009

We recently moved to the area and chose St. Agatha Catholic School because of its very nice facility, small class sizes, and relative affordability. Now having been there for a year we are very happy with our decision, the teachers engage the kids, the staff are all very dedicated and good people, and the parent involvement is amazing. We are also happy with the added value our kids receive with the literacy program, IT/Computer program, CYO sports program, and coming next year the science program. Overall the St. Agatha School and Parish have made us feel a part of the community and we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

My child has had a successful career in the St. Agatha middle school and has entered a Catholic High School. She was well prepared and has excelled. The standards at St. Agatha are high, and the teachers are extremely dedicated and communicative. I would recommend the middle school as well as the k-5 program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

It is a lovely new school. Pre-K through 5 is great. The teachers do a wonderful job with what they have. Not alot of options for middle school kids. St. Agatha would be a great place for a PreK - 5 child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

St. Agatha has a fabulous new facility, dedicated staff, talented and committed teachers, and engaged parents. This community does whatever it takes to help a child succeed. Small class size allows for individualized attention which you cannot find readily in public schools. The students are eager to learn, engaged, happy, polite and thriving. St. Agatha has a superb curriculum and promotes community service in addition to a spiritual focus. St. Agatha also offers foreign language, physical education, music, art, and technology in addition to extra curricular activities through CYO. Before and after day care is available on-site. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

St. Agatha recently built a brand new building, so from the facilities view point, this school is up to speed and as modern as they come (new school opened 2002). The school and parents work hard to make an excellent partnership between teachers and parents. The teachers are excellent, available to students and parents on a moments notice. Class sizes are small and God is present and taught in the school. I would not hesitate to recommend this to any parent thinking of sending their child for an education. Most of the graduates go on to Catholic high schools and all graduates experience success in high school. In my humble opinion, the public schools pale in comparison.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 73%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Portland
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7960 SE 15th Ave
Portland, OR 97202
Phone: (503) 234-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Holy Family School
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT