Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 270 students

Columbia Christian Schools offers a safe, encouraging, affordable education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Portland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $149,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2014

This school is AWESOMMMMMMEEEE!!!!! Everyone is so helpful and amazing. The staff is so inspiring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2014

My two boys attend Columbia Christian Schools and truly love being there. They feel safe, welcomed, encouraged, and they receive an excellent education. Honestly, it is wonderful to see that they are excited for school each day. The teachers are invested in their students, the students enjoy being around one another, the staff are always helpful and friendly, the facilities are beautiful. It is a great environment for those searching for a Christian education focused on excellence. We have also enjoyed the close relationships we've been able to build with other families in the school. That is an added bonus to the great educational and spiritual environment. We'd certainly recommend Columbia Christian to any family searching for a school home for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

Columbia Christian is a growing Christian community that seeks to empower students to pursue excellence in faith, character and academics. The 12 acre campus is beautiful and welcoming - a place to call home. Columbia Christian is fully accredited through the Northwest Association of Accredited Schools (a division of AdvancED) and the Association of Christian Schools International. Administration, faculty, and staff are caring and committed to student success! Columbia Christian is dedicated to its mission - to empower students to become disciples of Jesus Christ!


Posted June 25, 2014

My 3 children attend Columbia and love it. The smaller classroom size makes sure they get the attention needed. My daughter struggled with math but because of the great teachers she is on track. We love that the school offers choir, band, drama and art. My children are receiving a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Columbia Christian Schools I have been involved with Columbia Christian for over 20 years. I sent my two children here since 1st grade and both graduated from Columbia. I have had 3 grandchildren that have or are attending Columbia and one son-in-law that graduated from Columbia. The Administrators are TOP! Our staff and faculty care about each student here. One-on One time is always available. We are a family here. Our secondary students meet together with elementary students every Friday for a prayer or just to talk about what is happening in their lives, etc. They also sit with them once a month in a joint chapel. We care about each other. Our ASB is great! We encourage our parents to truly get involved in our school. We welcome students that my want to come to shadow a day with a student to see first hand what Columbia is like. We are always ready to answer any questions you may have about the school We have been here since 1947 and God has blessed our school abundantly with purchasing the ex Cascade College campus so we can grow. Academics and Athletics are above other schools. Come check us out.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2014

This is the second year that my son has been at Columbia Christian and I can't say enough good things about this school! It is evident that the staff members truly care for the children - it shows in the way they instruct them and nurture their growth. There are ample opportunities for the kids to experience the arts, athletics and technology. The location is convenient and the price is affordable. I take comfort in the fact that my children can be part of a safe community where they are gaining life skills in a positive environment. I recommend Columbia Christian to any families who value faith, character and academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2013

My kids have been at this school for two years. I love it. The schlock l is growing, but not too much. I've never felt like I was treated differently than those that attend a church affiliated with the school. In fact, the school isn't technically affiliated with any church. We don't even have a church we attend regularly and I've never been treated differently or felt like I or my children were treated differently. I am so thankful we found this school. The teachers and principal are so caring and available whenever you need them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

There are many more schools that offer a good environment.First if you don't go to the church that is associated with the school then you get treated different. Also they have been known to kick a student out of high school when they were within a month of finishing the year, over nothing. The teachers lie and aren't as nice as expected. The reason the school hasn't grown through all of the years it has been open is because of the many inappropriate things that the teachers and principle get away with doing. I am speaking from my own experience there many years ago and then sending my sons. So everything that is advertized is not the truth. Teachers also don't have appropriate college background to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

My daughter transferred here from another private "Christian" school at which she was bullied, sexually harassed, unchallenged and in an overfull classroom. I have been exceedingly impressed since transferring her to Columbia Christian. Everything from the small classes, kind and thoughtful teachers, accessible administration, flexibility of the curriculum (she is in advanced math), quality of the field trips and real-life assignments and emphasis on academic excellence sets Columbia apart from other schools. Their tuition is also more reasonable than most. But the thing I love best about Columbia is that "Christian" isn't just part of their title, it's part of their DNA. My daughter has grown spiritually by leaps and bounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

My daughter is a junior and just loves it at CCS. She loves the teachers, the extracurricular classes (i.e. Drama, Choir, YearBook, etc) and the friendships she's made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

My children graduated from Columbia Christian and I loved them. Communication with the parents was top notch There is a balance between love, attention and discipline. They have the ability to create a community of acceptance yet foster kids to be independent. The Principal is a man of high moral, honor and true passion for children as does the school counselor. Sure there were small issues but they always listened to me and responded. The graduations are intimate, personalized affairs with a huge percentage of kids going onto college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

The standard of education at Columbia is superior to most schools. Learning processes incorporate small groups, individual, presentations or sharing of work and research.General music is taught and art I believe is dependent on the regular teacher in the elementary portion. Many parents are actively involved as lives and committments permit. What stands out in this school is that all teachers (in my experience) principal love their students and are willing to go above and beyond the call to see that every student succeeds. There is a more conservative Christian oriented view in this school and girls participate in worship in gender specific ways. On the other hand, persons of a more liberal stance are welcomed, heard, and where possible action taken. This is an excellent school and for responsible parents who practice their views and faith about inclusion, worship practices pose no problem; chapel constitutes a small portion of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Your child gets to join a community of learners with a great atmosphere of belonging. The teachers go out of their way to help you learn. With class size at less than 25, your student gets the attention he or she needs to get a question answered. The curriculum is based on Christian principles. You can also apply for financial aid if you are in need. This is a place that cares about each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 65%
Black 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Web-based language classes
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (503) 252-2108

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Web-based language classes
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

413 NE 91st Ave
Portland, OR 97220
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 252-8577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT