Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of Beaverton

Private | PK-6 | 184 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Portland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2012

We have been at this school for 3 years and couldn't be happier with the curriculum, teachers, staff and other families at the school. Both of my children are happy to go to school everyday and often ask me if we can go early so they can be the first ones there. My older child was extremely shy and never wanted to participate in any activities we used to take him to. After being at MSB, he has developed a confidence in himself and a curiosity for learning new things. We had originally planned on sending our children for the primary level (age 3 - 5) only but will be keeping them here for the elementary program as well (age 6-12). We can't imagine them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

My child first attended as a pre-schooler and had such a positive experience that we decided to keep her here for elementary. The Montessori philosophy is such a wonderful way to learn and the teachers are excellent. We also enjoy the community and have strong relationships with a number of other families. There's no place we'd rather be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My child has been attending MSB since she was a three year old....she is now twelve. Because of the environment in this school my child is now a very mature young woman who is capable and ready to go onto middle school. She is kind, curious, independent, interested in learning and a role model for her community. This is in great part due to the nurturing and loving environment of this school and it's staff. They have worked hand in hand with us to make her the person that she is today and for that we are very grateful and very proud. Thank you MSB!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

I can't imagine a more loving and nurturing enviornment for children and families. The teachers and administration are supportive and wonderful role models. The academics and child development curriculum are wonderful. We have been parents at this school for 6 years and could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

We are so happy that our sons (ages 9 & 11) have been part of the Montessori School of Beaverton for the past eight years. Montessori schools provide children with an amazing environment and fantastic materials. MSB students develop a keen interest in learning. We have watched children leave MSB as 6th graders and continue to achieve academic accolades and awards. Many schools claim to be Montessori based, MSB goes to great lengths to provide an AMI based education. Parent support for this excellent school began more than 30 years ago with financial support to expand onto a campus their children would not have had an opportunity to attend, having matriculated out of the school. We feel as those dedicated parents did, convinced that MSB is an exceptional school and will continue our support long after our children have left. Practicing peace based education and providing limitless opportunities for students is rare, MSB is a beautiful school able to do both for our sons. The teachers are exceptional, the Head of School and management are exceptional, the education of children is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

MSB has Relational Aggression (bullying in girls) problems. Our daughter (1st gr) was bullied by a group of 2nd gr. girls for the entire year, resulting in her being hit at the school picnic.The incident was reported & MSB did nothing.The teacher was ineffective in her dealings w/ the problems, & the principal denied the bullying & that the "hitting" event ever took place even tho it was witnessed & corroborated by other children.MSB seems more concerned with protecting its reputation as a highbrow private school & protecting its core families, & big donors than providing that safe & nurturing Montessori environment that we (along with many other families) pay substantial amounts of money to provide for our kids. Bullying is a real problem; MSB has it, & the administrators & staff prefer to bury their heads in the sand. Many of the other parents at the school feel bullying is a private issue - if it's not their child, they aren't concerned. While I cannot speak for every classroom and/or teacher - I can only say from personal experience the school administration was negligent in helping my daughter. I'd recommend finding another school for your child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

We love Montessori, and we love MSB. Great atmosphere, true montessori education, wonderful teachers and staff. Our child's teacher has always given very thorough progress updates at our conferences. Observations are excellent. School community is welcoming and open. I feel that the school administration has always been thoughtful, caring, forthcoming and professional. Take every review with a grain of salt (see below).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

My daughter has been going to MSB for several years and we plan to continue her education there. It's a great learning environment where children learn to understand math, science, nature, geography, and all the subjects to help them have a lifetime of learning and building on their education. It's a beautiful and amazing process. The school is AMI certified and the teachers are excellent. Reading a lot about Montessori prior to enrollment really helped us understand the process (eg. "The Secret of Childhood" by Maria Montessori). Our daughter is excited to go to school each day and she's very happy and secure there, which makes us very happy. It's a great fit for our family and really works for her. The parent and community-involvement is very good, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

School was a good school but standard has gone down tremendously in the last 3 years. Principal and teacher turnover are contributing factors. This used to be the only good montessori school in the area and that is no longer the case. No aftercare so not working parent friendly. Kids in public schools in the area are just as smart and do just as well. The curriculum and environment is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

My son attended Montessori School of Beaverton for 3rd, 4th and 5th grade. After that, he was accepted into Summa Academy, a public middle school that serves only children who test in the 99th percentile in reading and math. Sure, he's smart, and MSB gave him a great education. Teachers challenge the child, teaching lessons at the child's pace. The mood is warm and peaceful. Many students are advanced, and all appear to come from households that deeply value education. What happens after MSB? Anecdotally: Another of my child's classmates, who also was accepted to Summa Academy, won the top award at Oregon's state science fair (the Northwest Science Expo) in 7th grade. That same year, my son won a couple of awards there for his engineering project. It's fair to say that MSB teaches kids to think -- never to just do busy work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

Our son can't wait to come to school everyday. The teachers are wonderful and balance a challenging curriculum with creative play and social development.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 65%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 47% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 21%
Black 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11065 Northwest Crystal Creek Lane
Portland, OR 97229
Website: Click here
Phone: (503) 439-1597

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Pius X School
Portland, OR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT